Goodreads Book Tag

goodreads book tag.png

Hello all! I feel like this last week has been a bit weird for me and even though I wanted to post and have a ton of things backlogged, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to upload… so when in doubt do a tag I guess!

Thank you so much to Nicole @ Thoughts on Fantasy for tagging me to do this one! Her site is incredible- she always makes such interesting content- so I highly recommend you check it out!!

What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

ivan-denisovitch

What are you currently reading?

man's search for meaning

This is a reread and it’s just as heart-wrenchingly amazing the second time round- plus thanks to Goodread’s new reread feature I can actually count this towards my goodreads challenge – which is exciting!

What was the last book you marked as TBR?

 

through-the-woods

To be honest I’ve wanted to read this for ages, so it was more of a “can’t believe this is not on there” add.

What book do you plan to read next?

Well I was considering reading Orwell, but to be honest, since the last two books have been so heavy and I had amazing luck at the library yesterday (where they happened to be unboxing brand new books just as I arrived) I will be reading this:

heartless

Do you use the star rating system?

Yes- I just wish they had a half star system cos it makes it really hard!

Are you doing a 2017 Reading Challenge?

Yes- but I’ve set my challenge too low- I’ll have to put it up…

Do you have a wishlist?

Yup! I use both my tbr and my amazon wishlist- they’re both ridiculously long

What book do you plan to buy next?

I normally buy at random, but right now I have my eye set on these:

books-i-want-to-buy

 

Do you have any favorite quotes? Share a few.

I’ve quoted part of this before- but here’s the whole thing- cos it’s amazing:

lord-of-the-rings-quote

Makes me choke up every time!

Who are your favorite authors?

Ah I could be here forever! Here’s just a few:

V E Schwab, Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Pierce Brown, Laini Taylor, Garth Nix, Phillip Pullman, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Austen, Hardy, Steinbeck, Oscar Wilde, J M Barrie, Carlos Ruiz Zafon….

Have you joined any groups?

Huh- I thought I had, but when I checked I hadn’t- whoops

That was really fun to do!! I Tag:

Donna, Zezee, Night Train to Zurich, Nicole, Martin, Between the Pages, rekhasahay, lost art of reading, literary Weaponry, A Thousand Lives, afterbutterflyrain and Paperback Princess

And anyone else that wants to do it! Hope you enjoyed that! What are you currently reading? What are you planning on reading next? And who else is excited about this new Goodreads feature?

57 thoughts on “Goodreads Book Tag

  1. Liesje says:

    Heartless is on the top of my tbr! I’ve heard a lot of great things about it. Thank you so much for the tag and happy reading! 🙂

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    That quote makes me tear up every – single – time. I love it so, so much, and now I want to re-watch the movie, so thank you for that 🙂 I really want to read Through the Woods as well, it sounds like such a weird book ahah, it makes me so curious. And big YES for Gemina! I can’t wait for you to read it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. chaoticeverything says:

    I am currently reading Heartless, it starts out kinda slow. I got more interested around page 120. I’m close to page 400 now which is almost half way through. I enjoy the main character Cath. She’s pretty relatable I think. The Joker …. all I’m say is so far I adore him. The King I want to smack….he’s annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ana says:

    Very cool answers!
    I completely agree that there should be half stars and I also aimed low for the challenge so I won’t feel the pressure 🙂
    Don’t you just love that ‘you’re ahead of schedule’ message?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nicola Alter says:

    Aw thanks 🙂 I’ll be really curious to see what you think of Gemina and Captive Prince – both are books that I’ve got on my radar but haven’t actually added to my TBR yet.

    Cool there is a re-read feature now! Maybe I will have more of an incentive to dust off some childhood favourites (your mention of Philip Pullman reminds me that I haven’t read the His Dark Materials trilogy in so long I barely remember anything about it except that I loved it!)

    And I LOVE that quote – such an emotional moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      You’re welcome! I’m super excited for those two!! Yes- it’s so cool- I think I had the same issue about rereads (cos I was too focused on challenges) but now… and yes- that’s a good point about Pullman!! It’s been a few years since I reread them!! Ahh yes!!! I know right!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lashaan and Trang (Bookidote) says:

    That new re-read feature on Goodreads is absolutely beautiful. Glad that they managed to bring that fan-desired idea to life. I’ve been meaning to read Man’s Search for Meaning for more than a year now! How did you like it the first time? Probably pretty good if you’re re-reading it now? 😛 Glad to see the Maus collection is in your priority wishlist! 😀 WOUU! Graphic novels!! ❤ By the way, do you keep you Goodreads account private? Since there's no mention anywhere of your account. 😛

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      yes it is!! Yeah me too!! It’s absolutely amazing- I finished it for the second time and it was even better- there are so many depths to that book. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. I really recommend it! Yes it is!! I’m very excited to start on graphic novels!!! Yeah it’s my personal account- I still haven’t figured out whether to convert it to a blogging account and I’ve been doing this for more than a year 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    Through the Woods is amazing! It’s definitely one of my favourite graphic novels. I love the art and how creepy it is. I hope you will enjoy it as well! 😀 I really want to read Heartless as well, I love Alice and Wonderland, plus I have heard that it’s really good. Hopefully I’ll get my hands on it some time soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Aayush Priyank says:

    I read a few of your posts and then I realised that you do book reviews. Pretty slow of me. If you haven’t already, I’d recommend you to check out Brandon Sanderson’s stormlight archive. Looking at the themes you enjoy, it would really interest you. It’s got unique perspectives on philosophy and morality and stuff like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

