V E Schwab is Masterful at Conjuring Light

a conjuring of lightI must have mentioned a million times on this blog how much I love Schwab’s work- and I am so happy to say that the master has done it again! Boy, did I have fun reading this book!

After the last book I have to say, I was excited about where this journey would take me next, and boy did this deliver. This full on adventure took us beyond the ever-changing colour of Schwab’s London, sailing to the high seas and beyond to the darker recesses of the character’s minds.

The characterisation was flawless as per the usual standard. Of course it was wonderful to see favourites from the last books- Kell, Lila, Rhy, Alucard- again, but what was so brilliant about this book was how much more fleshed out some of the other characters became. And even better was how villains and allies had moments of changing their allegiances as easily as Kell changes her coat.

Most of all, I have to give credit for the absolutely beautiful writing. Just like the tightly spun magic around the heroes in the book, her writing held A Conjuring of Light together and made for an absolutely incredible reading experience.

Undoubtedly, this was a near perfect conclusion to the series!

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahalf-a-hand-drawn-banana

Have you read this? Did you like it? And if you’re a Schwab fan- what’s your favourite of her books?

Also I know I’ve had *a lot* of positive reviews lately but I can promise that some of my ones that are coming are less glowing…

34 thoughts on “V E Schwab is Masterful at Conjuring Light

  1. Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    I’ve only read ‘A Darker Shade of Magic’ so far, but am planning to continue at some point. Glad to hear the next books don’t disappoint!! I’ve also read Vicious, which I enjoyed too, though I think the Shades of Magic series is more up my alley 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    I JUST started this, and I love it. I was so shocked at here Schwab started the book– I more or less can’t stop reading, but alas– I have to go to work sometimes. I can’t wait to see what happens. But, at the same time, I don’t want the series to end.

    Thank you for a no-spoilers review! I really appreciate it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

