4 for 4- April Mini Reviews

Hello- happy Friday!! I don’t know about where you are, but it’s been a lovely sunny day over here in good old England for a change, so I’m soaking up the sun while I can…

sun has got his hat on

(And yes, I’m being totally British starting this post by talking about the weather- *that’s* not stereotypical at all… anyone want some tea?)

Anyhoo, I’m back today with my mini review feature where I catch up on some of my ever-growing backlog of unreviewed books- if you want to hear more about this, you can check out my post from last month. Without further ado, let’s get to it!

sun is also a star

The Sun Is Also A Star– Unusually for me, even though I loved the author’s other book Everything Everything, I frickin hated this. I’m totally not a fan of stories where people just fall in love in a day- especially since I didn’t feel like the main characters even gelled. And frankly, this might get me a lot of hate, but I didn’t find her situation as sympathetic as it was supposed to be. I don’t really feel like getting into political debates at the minute, so I’m just gonna say this book was clearly aimed at very left wing individuals and as a centrist I couldn’t get on board with the factual discrepancies and blatant propaganda. If you’re super into political messaging in books and are very left wing, you’ll love it… otherwise, avoid like the plague!

Rating: 1/5 bananas

hand-drawn-banana

hollow city and library of souls

Hollow City & The Library of Souls– I really intended to do proper reviews for these, but I realised I must have been too absorbed in the stories cos I didn’t take any notes. What I can tell you about these books is that if you loved the first one, these are both a great continuation of the story and worked just as well for me! I found the world building in both of them equally imaginative and just as intriguing as the first. And I don’t know what it is about it, but I felt really connected to the narrator’s voice. Also BIG shout out and thanks to Fernanda who hosted a giveaway where I won Hollow City!!

Rating: 5/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

(apiece- that’s an awful lot of bananas!)

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

heartless

Heartless– meh- this wasn’t terrible by any stretch of the imagination. Looking back on it though, I didn’t personally connect with the characters and didn’t enjoy it as much as the Lunar Chronicles. Also proceed with caution: do not read if you are remotely hungry!

Rating: 3/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

Okay- I don’t know if that was cheating to do just three reviews, but there were four books here… so… Either way have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

56 thoughts on “4 for 4- April Mini Reviews

  1. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    I really enjoyed The Sun is Also a Star, despite having a million and one problems with it. Especially having them fall in love in a single day, less than 24 hours! I also kinda hated the characters and there were a lot of other things. Still, in spite of it all, it was a quick and enjoyable read so I gave it 4 stars I think, cause that’s just the kind of thing I do lol. I also totally agree that Heartless was nowhere as good as the Lunar Chronicles. Great post! And great reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    I put Heartless on hold for now, but I simply cannot get trough more than two pages with it before getting incredibly annoyed or bored or hungry for that matter. I am sooo surprised because we have totally different opinions on the peculiar children series. I did not enjoy that one bit hahaha but glad you did. I always want people to like what they are reading.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. mudandstars says:

    I haven’t read any of these, but I loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, so I really do need to read the sequels at some point – sounds like they’re worth it! I loved Everything Everything, but I definitely think The Sun is Also a Star would annoy me. I hate insta-love with a passion, and the fact that it happens in 24 hours really puts me off. Alsooo, as a fellow centrist, I find overly left-wing, or overly right-wing stuff irritating, so I think this would annoy me as I don’t like when books get preachy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Oh awesome- I really hope you enjoy them!! Yeah it had all the ingredients to wind me up I’m afraid. I think it was also some of the inaccuracies she was talking about where i was sitting there correcting it in my head, which was irritating. I don’t think she was trying to be preachy, but her story was built on an ideological stance, if that makes sense. And also, more importantly *high five* for being a fellow centrist- I very rarely meet any!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • mudandstars says:

        Yes, I understand exactly what you mean – this is why I take a central stand, because I feel like the more left wing parties are too ideological. I like their ideas in theory, but they would not work in practice. I rarely meet anyone who is a centrist either – most of my friends are quite left wing, and I almost think they believe being a centrist is the same thing as being right wing, which it really, really isn’t! So mainly I just stay out of political conversations with them, because I get angry haha 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Yes- precisely. I actually grew up left wing, but have since been disillusioned with it. That’s *exactly* how I feel about it. Oh yeah definitely- a lot of my friends think I’m right wing now, because I tend to point out that a lot of their ideas, while nice in theory, don’t work in practice. Basically it’s an “if you’re not with us, you’re against us” mentality- while in reality I just think a more balanced approach to issues works best. hahaha I get that- my political position tends to annoy most people 😉 but I found, even when I was left wing, I didn’t toe the party line so I was considered a maverick anyway. As you said, left wing parties are too ideologically driven, and in my opinion, too puritanical (people I know used to convince themselves out of positions because “it wasn’t very left wing to think like that”!) Anyway, sorry for the mini rant- I’m wayy too passionate about politics.

          Liked by 1 person

          • mudandstars says:

            Hahaha, feel free to mini rant anytime you like, as I feel exactly the same way. And I know what you mean about your political position annoying people – people seem to think that being central is sitting on the fence, when in actual fact it’s about taking the best of both sides of the spectrum and finding the best practical solution!

            Like

  4. alilovesbooks says:

    Did you mention tea???

    Heartless is definitely not the book to read if you’re on any kind of diet. I wasn’t keen on Cath but I did really enjoy the story. I loved Jest and Hatta.

    I did also quite like The Sun. I didn’t love it but didn’t hate it either, although I did skim a lot of the aside chapters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hehehe now I need tea again 😉
      hahaha true!! Yeah I felt the same about Cath- I quite liked the story though, couldn’t make my mind up about the other characters either way.
      Ahh fair enough- I get why people like that one- it was just *really* not for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I’m glad that the weather was nice for you! 😀 Where I live it was cold, rainy and miserable…But the weather will be better over the weekend, so I’m very much looking forward to that!!
    I’m sooo glad that you enjoyed Hollow City and Library of Souls – they were both such amazing books! I got sucked into the story as well, I think I even read them back to back, as I just had to know what was going to happen next. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha oh dear- well if it’s any consolation- that’s what it’s normally like over here!! 😉 Hope you enjoy the sun when it comes 😀
      YES!! Agree so much!! Me too!! I just binge read them. The only thing I wish was that I’d been less absorbed in it so I could have written notes… but then again, I very much enjoyed being totally absorbed in it so really #noregrets!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    Didn’t expect the political side of things to pop up for a book like The Sun is Also a Star. :O But I do like to see people not enjoy something that I have no seen any negative reviews for yet! Quite fascinating. Also love how the Peregrine books got 5 huge bananas each! That’s really amazing! Do you plan on checking out Tales of the Peculiar? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Hehe nor did I to be honest!! But once you get down to it the subject is political and there’s no way round it. I’ve read more nuanced, interesting and realistic books on the subject, so I was pretty unimpressed. Hehe yeah it was very popular, though after looking really hard, (which I often do when I read a popular book and hate it) I managed to find some people that hated the instalove element. Yeah they deserve it!! Haha i already did- totally forgot to review that too, but I actually loved that too!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

        Ouuh, I see. I never plan on reading it though, but that is definitely interesting to hear about. Oh, it sounds like we have a die-hard fan of Ransom Riggs! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Yeah, I think i may have overthought it given it’s supposed to be this frothy teen book 😉 (but then the author shouldn’t have gone for heavy topics if she didn’t want nutters like me to overthink it 😜) haha yes, it kind of crept up on me- but that sounds about right!! 😉😁

          Liked by 1 person

  7. Marie says:

    OH I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy The Sun is Also a Star so much. I’m glad to hear you like Miss Peregrine’s series, I got the book a couple days ago and I’m impatient to read it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Cayli Lambert says:

    Miss Peregrine’s and The Infernal Devices are my two top most favorite books of all time! I love Jacob so much ❤️❤️❤️ I wanted to do reviews as well, but then the next thing I know I’m onto the next book in the trilogy lol

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jane the Raincity Librarian says:

    Ugh, not a fan of insta-love. I know it’s one of the oldest tropes in the book, and it keeps popping up because the idea of love at first sight tugs at readers’ heartstrings, but yeah, just not my jam either. Though as a cynical old codger I’m most definitely not the target YA novel demographic… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    I haven’t made it to Heartless. I was so excited and pre-ordered it. Then the hype set in and I lost my interest. But I love retellings so eventually. I am glad to see you enjoyed Hollow City and Library of Souls. I have yet to read Library of Souls but thoroughly enjoyed the first two books. Hope you are enjoying the weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Great post! I really enjoy these mini reviews. It’s great to find out about a blogger’s opinion of several books in one sitting and if you don’t really have that much to say about them, best to keep it short I think 🙂
    I really want to try Heartless but I’m keeping my mind open, knowing I probably won’t love it as much as TLC. Oh well!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. LizScanlon says:

    Hahahahahaha… loved the way you started the post with weather and tea! I wince every time I meet a person and it’s this awkward moment of what do we have in common to talk about and as an Estonian I suck at smalltalk so it always falls to weather and it’s proper cringe! 😀

    I haven’t read any of the books you reviewed above so i can’t, you know, go into arguments with you 😀 but good choice on starting this post with the 1 banana review 😀 loved how you went political there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Hehehe thank you- glad you liked that 😉 hahaha as a British person I excel at “weather shall talk” (because in all honesty we’re a little bit too interested in the weather over here- I’m sure you’ve noticed 😉) (to be honest it’s probably a safer topic than anything else I might blurt out… I’m prone to talking about really random things) hehehe well that’s actually quite nice in a way 😉 hahaha thanks 😉

      Like

  13. Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    I’ve been thinking of reading Heartless after I finish the Lunar Chronicles because I’ve been enjoying the series so far (also I was wooed by the pretty cover 🙂 ). I see you weren’t thrilled by it though… but your warning about being hungry has me intrigued!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I was also wooed by the pretty cover. I feel like it’s one of those books where there’s nothing inherently wrong with it, I just couldn’t connect- so I hope you enjoy it more than I did! But yes- I was constantly hungry while eating it!! You will know what I mean from the very beginning!! Just make sure you load up on snacks before getting comfortable!

      Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaa yeah- I know that’s a *really* unpopular opinion… It just didn’t work for me unfortunately! Mostly cos I realised last year how much I hate “fall in love in a day” love stories, so the second I cracked open that spine and realised what was happening, my whole being just went “oh nooooo”. Can’t blame the author too much for it, cos it definitely came down to personal taste

      Like

Leave a Reply

