The Infinite Perks of Being a Wallflower – A Long Overdue Read

perks of being a wallflowerWell hello there! And I know, I know, many of you are probably reading the title and are thinking you’ve stepped into a timewarp, because I have, apparently, been living under a rock until now and have only just read this book. Sure, we all have classics sitting on our tbrs, glaring accusatory up at us, waiting to be read, but I do really think I should have read this before now. I mean, c’mon, if you’ve read this book, you’ll know what I mean.

Anyway, onwards with the review. If the fact that it has taken me 24 years and 7 months to read this (though in fairness to me it’s only been published for 17 of those years…) hasn’t already shocked you to your core, then the fact that I didn’t expect much from this book shouldn’t leave you too traumatized. Perhaps it is due to being disappointed too many times by hyped books, perhaps it was that I had committed another cardinal sin and watched the movie first. Either way- I don’t know why it surprised me that I liked it, but it did.

But really- what is not to like about this book? It is beautifully written, hard hitting and very, very real. This book had me laughing and crying along the way. The wisdom in this book resonated right to the core of my being- and like all good books, it’s the kind of story that not only stays with you, but keeps offering more every time you think about it. The characterisation was perfect- realistic, striking and infinitely wonderful. Still it was not just the core characters that were fleshed out- minor figures in the story were equally striking (I feel obliged to point out, in the words of Holden Caulfield, Mary Elizabeth is a phony).

So what else is there to say other than go read it? For goodness sake, don’t make my mistake- pick it up without delay!!

Rating: 5/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

So have you read this book? What did you think of it? And what books have you delayed reading? Let me know in the comments!

60 thoughts on “The Infinite Perks of Being a Wallflower – A Long Overdue Read

  1. 50shad3s0fjay says:

    I have seen the film, which I fell in love with from my first viewing. I am looking forward to reading the book and it’s 100% on my tbr list, I just haven’t got round to it yet but I will! Funnily enough my friend and I were talking about the film / book last night and now I read your review… I think it’s a sign it should be next on my list! 5 out of 5 bananas is making me even more excited to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. daleydowning says:

    Never read it, either. Seen the movie, but not a fan. Just not my subject matter/cup of tea/preferred style. But to each his own! I could definitely get from the movie why this novel has touched so many readers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. palmettostatecdc says:

    No worries, I haven’t read it either yet, unfortunately… And two other books that still glance up at me in impatience are Tolstoj’s “War and Peace” and Dave Egger’s “The Circle” (two very different novels indeed…). Thanks for the good review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ah I’m glad I wasn’t the only one with this one. War and Peace is amazing- but I totally understand about that one- it took me *ages* to get to it already!! And I haven’t read the Circle yet, but I’m really intrigued about it too! Thank you for reading!!

      Like

  4. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    I too have had this on my TBR for nearly 25 years 😉 Has this really been published for 17 years?! That doesn’t seem right. I feel that it is one of those titles I know I need to read, but I simply never find myself in the right mindset. Downside of being a mood reader I suppose. Your review makes a stellar case though!

    Like

  5. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    *cough* I still haven’t read this *cough* 😀 😀 Pretty reassuring to hear how much you enjoyed this though. Definitely looking forward to finally reading it. One of those rare classics that I actually don’t have on my bookshelves too! Do you plan on checking out the movie now? Or maybe you actually already DID watch it, before reading the book? :O

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I’m glad- and good to know I wasn’t the only one late to this party. Ah well I hope you get to it sometime 🙂 haha well I also committed the cardinal sin of watching the movie first with this one- but luckily it didn’t affect the book for me for a change!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. LizScanlon says:

    right… i now feel super eejity for not having read this myself yet! 😂 great review, you’re definitely teasing with the hard hitting phrases and I guess a tbr pile reorganisation is in order!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    I haven’t read this book yet, probably because I have the same reservations you did due the hype, but also because it doesn’t look like my kind of book… however, since it is a 5-banana read maybe I can get over that 🙂

    There are so many books I have delayed reading. I still haven’t read Brave New World, Little Women, and many other classics on my TBR. I’ve also been meaning to read something by Ken Follett for ages but am intimidated by the size of his books. I’ll get to them all one day though!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Zezee says:

    Lol! I understand holding out on it because it’s overhyped. I picked it up when I heard the movie was being made and read it all in a day, I think. I was that hooked on the story. But then I forgot to watch the movie lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

