Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I cannot actually believe I haven’t done this tag already. This one’s been around for a reallllly long time and god only knows I love my controversial opinions. Thank you so much to Sophie @ Blame Chocolate for tagging me for this very exciting- she has some really awesome content- you should really check her out!!

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE

Well there’s two kinds of popular- the kind like Selection series and Matched where I don’t actually know anyone that liked it, and then there’s the kind of series that will get me hung drawn and quartered for admitting I didn’t like… Books like…

Knife_of_Never_letting_Go_cover

Confused the sh*t out of me.

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE

catcher in the rye

A lot of people really hate this book- but I’m not one of them! (and I can already hear the “arghhh no”s, but don’t worry, you’re free to hate on Holden Caulfield in peace- I’m not judging 😉 )

AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE

Hehe a few… Katniss and Peeta were pretty meh, Chaol and Celaena (nope!), Alina and Mal (nah). But the one that’s most likely to get me buried under a whole lotta anger is I *hated* Jem and Tessa together! (to clarify, I don’t dislike the characters, just I do not ship them)

clockwork prince and princess

 

A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR.

Hmm this is a toughie cos I’m really really trying to reach for books outside my comfort zone lately (sci fi, graphic novels, non fic) but I think the book I go for the least is probably the classic whodunnits. No real reason for this- it just happens.

A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE

Chaol from Throne of Glass!! I *hate* him with the strength of a legion of Fae- which is ironic cos he’s such a raging bigot towards Fae (that and his snooty support of the crazy-ass king is one of the many, many reasons I can’t stand him).

A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO

Oho this one’s gonna get me in trouble… but John Green. I’ve read two of his books and I liked the second one less than the first… I won’t be picking up anything else by him at this point.

looking for alaska and fault in our stars

A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING

Eons and eons ago I wrote a whole post about this, but right now, the thing that’s annoying me most is the Mary Sue. Authors: *feel free to go away and write real characters*- your cooperation is much appreciated 😉

A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING.

I had to really think about this one cos I rarely rule anything out, but in the end I think I’ve just heard a lot of criticisms of these series and seen the films for both- they’re just not gonna happen at this point:

beautiful creatures and maze runner

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?

Game of Thrones1

Well there are actually a number of these, but since this is the “Unpopular Opinions Tag” I’m going to pick the most controversial one… Game of Thrones. That’s right- I’m one of the few people that prefers the TV show to the books. I do actually like both, but for me, even while accounting for a fair amount of flaws, the TV show wins out every time. (In fairness to me, it’s my all-time favourite show- so it’s a pretty unfair contest)

Okay, I have no idea who has and hasn’t done this tag, so I’m gonna leave this one open-ended. If you want to do it, consider yourself tagged!

Agree or disagree with my choices? Come on, let me have it, which ones make you really mad? And which ones made you secretly happy? Let me know in the comments!

98 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Cayli Lambert says:

    I really appreciate a lot of your opinions. I have no interest reading The Maze Runner nor Beautiful Creatures. They both sounded boring/I tried to get into them and never could get past chapter two. I believe their concepts are very unique but just getting into it has been hard.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Sarah Angleton says:

    This is great! I agree with you about John Green (even though he got a necessary nod on my blog this week), but who doesn’t like Catcher in the Rye (except my dad who was appalled that I was required in high school to read a book that contained the f-word)? I did start the Maze Runner series, but didn’t finish it because as it went on it just struck me as unnecessarily weird. I agree with you on Game of Thrones, too. I like the books, but now that the show has moved beyond them it feels like the HBO writers have a handle on the whole thing in a way Martin just doesn’t. The books were getting a little unwieldy.

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! I’m glad you agree on both of those- though so many would disagree!! (quite vocally too 😉 ) I’d say I don’t know why people don’t like Catcher in the Rye, but it’s probably something to do with Holden 😉 Ah yes, that’s something I picked up from the films tbh. Ah yes that’s true- and what’s good about the TV show is it has a lot of input from Martin on all the vital details. Definitely agree with you there.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. PoojaG says:

    Honestly I love how honest you at and I can totally relate. I kind of prefer the Game Of Thrones show then the books and I have no interest in reading The Maze Runner Either. I didn’t like looking for Alaska that much either but reading An Abundance Of Katherines definitely got me back into John Green

    Liked by 3 people

  4. thesarahdoughty says:

    Considering I either haven’t read (probably because I’ve had no desire to do so) or didn’t like what I did read/watch, I think you’re pretty much on point. I liked Katniss/Peeta to a point, but Katniss was so damn slow to figure things out. I watched Beautiful Creatures and thought certain parts were interesting. I even tried to read it, but was bored beyond measure by chapter three. I thought Maze Runner was decent, but that was probably only because of Dylan O’Brian. From what I understand, his character in the book just wasn’t tolerable. I’ve never bothered with John Green, but I’ll raise you Nicholas Sparks. I swear that man can write some cardboard characters that say and think the same crap for a third of the book. And the lack of varying sentence structure made me want to pull my hair out.

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahhh thank you!!! 😀 Yeah that’s true- I wasn’t a Gale person. I just liked katniss on her own and sometimes felt like it was more of a plot device than something I shipped- so yes, I was the same, it was fine to a point. Yes that’s true- I think it was something where I’d have happily watched the second film if they’d made it, but didn’t feel like reading it. That’s true- gotta love Dylan O’Brian 🙂 haha I’ve only seen some movies based on his books and have zero desire to pick up one of the books! hahaha I’ll take your word for it and avoid it for sure!! Thanks so much for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mystery Date with a Book says:

    You know what? I’m kind of ashamed to admit that I liked the Selection series. Haha! I guess you might say it’s a guilty pleasure of mine. All those dresses and learning how to be a princess… it’s just such a light-hearted story.
    And yes for Game of Thrones! Haha! Keeping my fingers crossed hoping they’ll call me back to work on the last season. Eek!

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha don’t be!! We all have guilty pleasures!! haha I can understand that- and I’d have probably liked it in some respects, if not for America.
      ahh yes!! That would be amazing- I really hope they call you back too 🙂 That’d be amazing!! *fingers and toes crossed* for you!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    I was going to say that I haven’t seen you read many whodunnits when you commented on my The Perfect Stranger review! Well, there’s the answer! It just happens! 😛 I love how “controversial” you first and last answers are hahahah Can’t blame ye for The Knife of Never Letting Go. It’s really… a hit or miss! 😀 As for GoT… damn… 😀 I’m most likely going to read the books pretty soon, but this is the first time I hear someone say the show is superior to the books! :O But I have to admit that the show is PHENOMENAL. Beautiful in every way possible, coupled with amazing actors too! Can’t wait for the final season this summer… Well.. I don’t know if I want it to end anymore… :O

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha yes that’s true- it’s not a conspiracy though- I’ve no idea why I don’t pick them up. Though my sister just reminded me I don’t tend to go for self-help books- and that *is* deliberate. hahaha I know right- I considered being less controversial, but then went “nah!!” :p Ahh I’m sure you’ll enjoy them- they’re still really good- but like you said, the show is phenomenal!! I one hundred percent agree with you there!! Me too!!! I want it but also don’t want it at the same time!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Christy Luis says:

    I’ve only read the first GoT and seen the first season, but I agree- I enjoyed the tv show more because it felt like it moved faster. And because it’s just fabulous ;D Also, we’re completely opposite on Catcher in the Rye! Everyone I know loves Holden and I…just…can’t Lol Great post!

    Liked by 3 people

  8. dragonsandzombies says:

    Agree with you on John Green! I read ‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’ a while ago. It was okay but didn’t impress me that much and I don’t feel like I should check out other work by the author.

    Haven’t read ‘The Catcher in the Rye’ yet, but one day I want to give it a try!

    Also not interested in ‘The Maze Runner’.

    Game of Thrones.. A Song of Ice and Fire…. I love them both the same!!! 😀 I thought about it for a bit and really can’t say. I think I like some aspects of the books more but some of the series as well. So.. It’s a tie 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks that!! Yeah even though I saw some good elements in his books, I’m not motivated to check out anymore of his work.
      Yeah I feel the same way about them. Ahh that’s fair enough!! I know a lot of people like that!!
      Thanks for commenting 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you so much!!! I totally understand that- I basically tackled them cos I loved the first season so much and had to know what happened next. I’m glad I did, but I still prefer the show. haha a Mary Sue is basically an idealised character that is often just the author minus flaws. (Or flaws that aren’t really flaws at all, like clumsiness- basically Bella Swan 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I actually enjoyed Catcher In the Rye a lot more than I thought I would, as I have heard that most people dislike that book. XD I have only read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and while I did love that book when I read it, I just have no interest in his other books. Probably because I don’t like contemporary that much, but also because his books don’t interest me that much. Great post, I really enjoyed reading through your answers! 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Oh I agree about not shipping Jem and Tessa! I actually thought Tessa was about as dynamic as a pancake sO.😂 That was awkward haha. And I still prefer the GoT books to the show! I mean, the show is great (I’m not actually caught up though because I knew my favourite character was up for dying and I didn’t want to seeeee it) and the book DOES have so many unnecessary waffling about scenes…but I do like how much more complex the world is in the books.😂 However. We are NEVER GOING TO GET THE LAST ONE, are we?!😭😂

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha I understand that. And that’s fair enough- I really struggled with parts of that in the show too. But I agree, there is more waffling in the books- though some of the worldbuilding makes up for it. Ahh I know!!! 😭😂

      Like

  11. littlebookynook says:

    I can’t get into John Green either, not sure why…just not a fan. I prefer Will and Tessa, there was just more reciprocal live between them. I felt like Tessa went for Jem because he didn’t have long to live and I didn’t really like it. Beautiful Creatures wasn’t great, it was a massive let down for me 😕 I’ve never watched or read Game of Thrones…oops lol. Awesome post!!

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks that. Me too!! I totally thought that- both me and my sister read it at the same time and felt like it was a pity romance :/ I didn’t like their relationship at all. Ah that’s good to know. haha no worries!! Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Zezee says:

    I can’t believe you didn’t already do this one either.
    I’m with you on John Green. I read Fault in Our Stars and now I doubt I can stand another book by him. Buuutt…for GOT, I gotta go with the books man. I’m super biased there though cause I haven’t yet watched much of the TV show.

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I know right- I legitimately searched through my posts to see if I’d done this one and my word docs- apparently not!
      I know right- I thought I’d give him a second try, but it wasn’t worth it. I’m done with his books- they’re clearly not for me.
      Haha a lot of people do disagree with me there. It’s not that I don’t like the books, it’s that I think it translates so well to screen. That said, I know people that can’t stomach the TV show cos it’s too graphic, so I get that too.

      Like

  13. Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    I can totally understand your hatred of Chaol. I didn’t hate him with quite the passion you describe but he really got on my nerves, especially in later books. It’s actually nice to see you list the reasons you dislike him because I feel more justified now in my dislike of him 🙂 The two series you have no interest in reading are both ones I started and gave up on… just weren’t my thing. I have friends who list them as all-time favourites though so I often have to temper my unpopular opinion! Oh, and I also prefer the GoT TV series to the books.

    But before I sound like I’m agreeing with you left right and centre, I do have one point of disagreement! The Knife of Never Letting Go is one of my favourites and I recommend it constantly. That said, I can understand why it might not appeal to everyone.

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Haha not many people do 😉 but yes exactly!! Haha yeah I’ve heard that *a lot* about them!! A lot of prior love them, but considering all the people that don’t… I feel justified in not picking them up. Ah yay!!! So glad you agree with me there!!!
      Haha no worries- i know I’m in the minority with that one- and i know that just because i couldn’t look past the style of the thing doesn’t mean other people couldn’t get a lot out of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thoughts on Fantasy says:

        Yeah I think you don’t need to pick those two up, I can’t imagine they would earn many bananas if you did!

        And yes I’ve read a few reviews where people said they hated the style of that book. It didn’t bother me though – I liked the novelty of it. But I didn’t enjoy the sequels, even though other people raved about them, so I know what it’s like to be in the minority on that series too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          hahaa no, I don’t imagine they would either and I like to eat loads of bananas after books, not a measly one or two 😉
          I can understand that- I’m very conservative about certain things in books (like grammar) so I tend to be more surprised and excited when I like something novel. Ah that’s a shame you didn’t like the sequels in the end.

          Liked by 1 person

  14. LizScanlon says:

    I love The Catcher in the Rye as well! I read it a few times in my younger years and the book itself is now on my next to buy list. Can’t wait to read it again and see what I think of it now… 🙂

    Yes, agree with Katniss and Peeta… that was totaly crap decision to put those two together… XD

    Great tag, enjoyed your answers… 😉

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yayy!!! It’s so nice to meet other people that like it!! I feel like every so often the subject of “bad books/least favourite books” comes up, loads of people pick Catcher in the Rye and I’m sitting here awkwardly thinking “hehe I actually like that”. I really hope you enjoy rereading it!!
      Yes!! Thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Hahahaha it’s funny how you included one of my most hated pairings and two of my favorite ones in the same answer XD
    Chaol is probably my favorite character in the series, actually. I think the flaws you mentioned are really what makes him so interesting and real. I get what you’re trying to say, but I feel like that isn’t really who Chaol is anyway. Maas wrote him totally differently, and people just don’t change overnight. It was unrealistic and it was clear she was doing it to make people dislike him and choose the new love interest instead… Ugh.
    Still, absolutely respect your opinion, since many people disliked him long before the third or forth book (when I think that change occurred) and to each his own 🙂
    I agree with everything else though XD
    I love GOT, but I haven’t been able to start the books yet. They’re still on my shelf, looking pretty and winking at me… So I guess I have to just read them already! 😛
    Thank you for the shout out! ❤

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha yes it is. I’m actually one of those people that hated him from book 1- I couldn’t get his loyalty to the king and he just got on my nerves (and then like you said, he just got worse). I’m not a huge fan of the love interests in that series in general tbh- although I like Dorian, but not with Celaena. But likewise- you’re totally free to like him!
      Haha I’m glad you agree with everything else!! Ahh I hope you enjoy them!!
      You’re welcome 🙂 ❤

      Like

  16. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    YES. The Knife of Never Letting Go. I read that book and I was just… What? I didn’t care at all about the characters and the writing didn’t grip me. Sadly, this seems to be a theme with Patrick Ness’s works. Oh well. We can’t love them all. And it would have made him my answer for that question. But I get where you’re coming from with John Green. His books are hit-or-miss for me.

    As always, an amazing and interesting tag. I love your answers!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

