Seven Deadly Sins Book Tag

seven deadly sins book tag.png

So I’m being totally responsible with tags lately, getting them done #likeaboss… And now I’ve decided to do one I wasn’t tagged for because… #YOLO? Maybe I’m just getting carried away with hashtags…

Anyway, I saw this tag on Sophie @Blame Chocolate’s blog a few weeks ago and I just thought it was perfect for my being bad theme I’ve got going on this week. Shout-out to her, cos she always does the best tags.

GREED

What is your most inexpensive book? What is your most expensive book?

Inexpensive: are all those freebie classics on my kindle!

jane austen complete works
Expensive: probably all those lovely books I’ve received as gifts, like this gorgeous copy of Austen I like to show off every now and again. It’s so perty.

WRATH

What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Oh hard!! The first one that comes to mind is Trudi Canavan, because her books are *so* hit and miss with me!! And the second… George R R Martin- *puts on whinging voice*: c’mon when are we gonna get Winds of Winter?!

george-rr-martin

GLUTTONY

What book have you devoured over and over with no shame?

Hobbit_cover

I used to do an annual reread of this in the Spring- I finally had the chance to do this again recently!! And it was EPIC!!

SLOTH

What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Oh my tbr is glaring up at me, with a dozen books screaming “pick me, pick me!!” I’m going to go with the Odyssey– because even though I’ve read/analysed sections before, I’d never read the whole thing cover to cover before, so I decided to. However, a few books in and I stuck it on my “Currently Reading” Shelf on Goodreads- and everyone knows that’s code for I’m sort of reading this, a page every month or so, I’ll be finished in about 20 years… Don’t rush me!

the-odyssey

PRIDE

What book do you talk about in order to sound like an intelligent reader?

Hehe would I do that? Moi?

Probably this tome cos it’s mammoth size looks impressive- but I don’t think it’s actually the toughest read- it’s just long (but very, very good)

war and peace

LUST

What attributes do you find attractive in male or female characters?

I like characters with a troubled past (or present). I just love getting all sappy and empathetic. Characters that come to mind are Celaena Sardothien and Ronan Lynch. Give me a really twisted anti-hero like Jorg and I’ll be happy too. But on the flipside I also love impossibly heroic characters like Alyosha (Brothers Karamazov) or Prince Myshkin (The Idiot). Basically give me a Dostoevsky character and I’ll be happy.

idiot

ENVY

What book would you like to receive as a gift?

Hmm since this book post is getting a bit of a Russian theme, I’d really like Volumes 3-7 of Gulag Archipelago– I’ve read the first two volumes now, but the rest is proving difficult to come by!

gulag archipelago

I TAG:

Always Trust in Books

Lashaan and Trang @ Bookidote

Meltotheany

Between the Pages

Untamed shrews

Okey dokey- that’s all for now! What book would you commit a deadly sin for? Let me know in the comments!

60 thoughts on “Seven Deadly Sins Book Tag

  1. Sarah Angleton says:

    This is a great tag! So…I’m not the only person who occasionally chooses a read just to sound more intelligent? Does that mean the people I’m trying to impress are on to me and are somewhat less impressed than I’d like to think with my obvious attempts to sound more intellectual than I am? Huh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! I do really like it, I’m just being realllly slow with it! Thank you!! Ahh good choice- I used to reread that *all the time*- it was a close call whether I put that or the Hobbit, but since I still reread the Hobbit to this day, it just won out 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Trang (Bookidote) says:

    Thanks for the tag !! 😉 Great choices! I see you put the Idiot from the famous author WINK WINKK HAH I love how I can make all the inside joke references now from our convo 😀 (the cover kind of made me LOL when I first saw it )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nathan says:

    What a sweet tag. It has been a long time since I have done one but this one really speaks to me. Bookmarking it now. I wonder what my most expensive book is? I don’t know if I have any special editions. Perhaps my Warhammer codex but i bought it used.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Awesome tag! I’m so glad you decided to do it, you always have such cool answers ^^
    I’m not an Austen fan but that book is just all kinds of wonderful and I feel like getting it anyway. Ugh, my shallowness!
    Also, I’m glad I’ve been putting off GoT because I’m just not a patient person and I don’t feel like re-reading the series every time that man decides to cough up a new book.
    Loved this post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! Ahh I know right- so pretty!!!
      Do it and maybe you’ll fall in love 😉 (not trying to push my Austen love or anything… okay that’s exactly what I’m trying to do 😉 )
      Ahh yes I know- I wish I’d been aware of Martin’s track record before whizzing through the series just after dance of dragons came out *sigh*
      Thank you ❤

      Like

  5. Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    Great picks! I LOVE that Jane Austen book – I admit, I think I would be willing to part with a significant amount of cash to own a copy 🙂 Also I had a laugh at what you said about The Odyssey, I’ve got a few books like that where I’ve had a bookmark in them for ages and I occasionally crawl forward a few pages… though I usually forget about them altogether at some point or give up and remove the bookmark, so you are doing better than I am, even if it takes you 20 years to finish it!

    Oh, and War and Peace is the perfect choice – I think that book has such a reputation now (and such a grand title) that the mere mention of it is enough to make everyone think you’re trying to sound like an intelligent reader, even if you aren’t trying to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

