The ‘I messed up’ book tag

Hello all! Remember me? I feel like this tag is kind of appropriate, cos I’ll be discussing a lot of ways I messed up… Starting with how long it’s taken me to do this (seriously- do not look at the dates I was tagged!!) Thank you so much to the wonderful Mud and Stars Book Blog and Ravenclaw Book Club for tagging me!

The other way I messed up is not being online for FOUR WHOLE DAYS (which in internet land is a millennia)- but in fairness I can’t actually blame myself for this one, cos I’ve been suffering from migraines all week and even though I tried to get back on it a couple of times, that just made it worse, so it was lights out for the monkey brain…

reverse-1394460798_chimp_waking_up.gif

Luckily I’m feeling a bit better today and *hopefully* it’ll continue to subside- just bear with me while I get back in the swing of things. Love you guys!

And while we’re on the subject, I owe you all a big thank you cos apparently this is a thing…

1337 followers.png

Random number I know- but I’m still celebrating every one of you so THANK YOU! I guess this is one way I haven’t messed up too badly, but, never fear, I’m human too (well metaphorically speaking) here’s all the bookish ways I’ve messed up in the past:

A character appearance that you misread or imagined differently.

I really didn’t imagine Sirius this way…

sirius

A character name that you’ve been pronouncing wrong.

Hermione- I pronounced it Herman until my mum corrected me. I didn’t really believe her until I saw the film. This is basically what I needed to see:

her my oh nee.gif

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure.

The dark character with the mushy centre- I love when a character starts off as the villain but turns out to have a heart of gold!

A cliché character type that you like better on screen than reading about.

Hmm I’m gonna flip this around and say friends to lovers works better in books than it does on screen. I just never believe that they are suddenly romantically interested in someone they’ve been ignoring for half the movie (I’m looking at you Lizzy Mcguire Movie!!)

lizzie mcguire

A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book.

Haha try most words I’ve ever learnt- but I can’t think of any examples!

Have you ever not read or completed a required-reading book for school?

Oh yes- I did an English Lit degree- there’s no way I could have read everything- especially not when it included things like Virginia Woolf- which I hate and could never finish. Usually there was a choice of three books a week. I knew some super organised people that got through everything on the list. I on the other hand was never that good.

Have you ever skipped (or wanted to) a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in?

I’ve wanted to… but I’ve never quite plucked up the courage!

Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

Haha I’m gonna say yes- but only cos as an English Lit student it counted as work. Otherwise, no I couldn’t legitimately do that. However, I would avoid making plans in the first place if I was anticipating reading a really good book…

I tag: Sophie @ Blame Chocolate, Zuky @ Book Bum, Panic at the Bookstore and Louise Loves Books

So what bookish ways have you messed up? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

59 thoughts on “The ‘I messed up’ book tag

  1. Kat Impossible says:

    The number 1337 isn’t as arbitrary as you might think. It’s from gamer speak and stands for leet or leetspeak which means elite. So, yay you, being part of the blogger elite and all!!!
    A name I could never pronounce right before the movie came out was Carlisle. Seriously had no clue.
    I wanted to skip so many chapters in the Game of Thrones books, simply because I didn’t like the characters. I was looking for Sansa most of the time and like counting how many chapters I had to get through to get to her. No wonder I never finished A Dance With Dragons.

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha that’s good to know!! hahaha thank you!! 😉 😀 ]
      haha yeah I think I might have had help with words like that when I was younger, cos it’s a place in the UK.
      Ahh yes I was the same- so so tempted- so many times!! haha I understand actually!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I feel like 1337 is a magical number! XD Congratulations! ❤
    I didn't imagine Sirius to look like that either. Isn't he supposed to have black hair and grey eyes – the usual look for someone from the Black family? (Or am I remembering it wrong?)

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Zuky the BookBum says:

    Thanks for the tag! Already coming up with the answers in my head for this one haha!
    I totally get what you mean about the friends-to-lovers thing, although I haven’t seen the Lizzie Maguire movie lol! 😛

    Like

  4. Bookstooge says:

    I always pronounced it Her-mine-ee.

    And congrats on the ever growing number of monkey fans. Ahh, it seems like just yesterday I watched as you crossed the 1K mark and now look at you, all grow’ed up!

    A word I learned was “febrile”. Not that I ever plan on using it, not even in a review. But who knows, it is nice to have it there…

    Liked by 2 people

  5. everydaystrangeblog says:

    Congrats on the followers 🏆 It took me waaay too long to get the overall message of The Giver. Like not until I hit college did I understand that it was basically about all the things you lose when you try to live a life devoid of pain. Ugh.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Nel says:

    Confratulations! I was going to say 1337 means leet as well but was beaten to it, haha. Keeping with HP, I didn’t think the second Dumbledore fit the mold coming from the first one. I have a hard time pronouncing Rhys or Curran. I have my guesses but until a movie comes out or the author specifically writes the pronounciation​… I also agree with the friends to lovers aspect being better in books than movies. It’s almost painful to watch it on screen vs. just reading about it. I think it has to do with how your brain conjures a story then when it’s just plopped in front of your eyes? I don’t know. (Sorry this is a long comment.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha thank you!! Well it’s good to know!! ah I felt the same about it! Me too actually- I’ve heard people say it now, so I get it now for Rhys (I think)- but Curran is a mystery to me 😉 haha yes, me too!! Yes so true!! One hundred percent agree with you there. Don’t apologise- I enjoyed it- thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

  7. littlebookynook says:

    This is awesome! For one, congrats on all the followers…super awesome!! The dark character with the mushy center is one of my favourite tropes!!! When there is someone super sarcastic or mean, I always hope that they are going to end up being the best character. I have avoided ALOT of social events because of reading…but that is probably more just because I am a bit of an introvert and would rather read or watch Buffy lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. She-Ra says:

    Kind of off topic here, but have you ever tried taking Magnesium Citrate capsules (150 mg) for your migraines? I used to get migraines about once a month, then I started taking one capsule of magnesium citrate daily, and I haven’t had a migraine since. Well, that’s not entirely true. I stopped taking the capsules at one point (to see what would happen), and within a few days, I got a migraine. (I used to get migraines with auras, blind spots, zig zag lines, etc).

    Liked by 2 people

  9. The Maniacal Book Unicorn says:

    Congrats on all the followers!! 🤗 I second almost all your answers, especially the real dislike for Virginia Wolf lol. With the exception of one short story, I disliked all her stuff and eventually just started skipping over it all. Though I will say I can ‘appreciate’ her work…mostly 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Marie says:

    Congratulations on the following count, this is awesome!! 😀 Also I think I agree with you about the Lizzie Mc Guire movie, I enjoyed it but, well, yeah, it kind of came out from nowhere haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Donna | Chocolate'n'Waffles says:

    Yay for milestones with random numbers!!!! Congratulations, you deserve all the followers in the world! Your blog is one of my favorites and I love you like bananas!!!
    I’ll ALWAYS pronounce Hermione HER-ME-OWN because it’s the French way and that’s how we grew up together!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Oh I’m sorry to hear about your migraines… I hope you’re all better now! ❤
    I didn't imagine Sirius like that either, but I can't say Gary Oldman's portray of him disappointed me in the least!
    Hahaha I love overused tropes, I don't think it's even an issue for me at all XD
    And congratulations on 1337 followers!!! 😀 That is such an awesome random number hahaha May it keep growing everyday ^^
    Thank you so much for the tag as well. I'll try to do it soon but… We both know how these things go LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  13. The Storyteller says:

    I’m doing an English lit degree and for one of my modules this semester I’ve read 1 and a half books out of 11… it’s for postmodernism, need I say more? (But I have read most of the plot summaries online though!)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. LizScanlon says:

    Migraines suck big time! Glad to hear you’re feeling better and I hope you still are actually feeling better!
    And congrats on the follower count! You deserve them all and triple that (and even more)… I love you satirical posts and all your reviews because you don’t pussyfoot around the/any topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    You always add to so much fun and life to tags! I am so sorry to read about the migraines though 😦 I am no stranger to how debilitating they are (thank you brain lesion). I hope you have found some relief! I have found ice is almost better than any med. Well that and complete darkness and silence which can be hard to come by. Hang in there! Sending many healing vibes!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    Bahahahah @Hermione pronunciation. Crazy, the number of different ways people pronounce it. How about Voldemort? How do you pronounce it? 😛 I think it wasn’t too long ago when J.K. Rowling revealed how she initially wanted it to be pronounced hahaha. Congratulations on 1337 followers!!! Here’s to more, more, more!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    Congrats on the milestone! And I’m sorry to hear about the migraines 😦 – I hope things have improved since you posted this.

    I totally agree with you on the dark characters with mushy centres, they never get old! And glad to hear I’m the only one who couldn’t read Virginia Woolf 🙂 I’ve also totally wanted to skip POV chapters of characters I wasn’t interested in but have never actually done it. Closest I came was in GoT (nearly skipped to the next Daenerys chapter!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you so much!! Yes, finally!! Thank you!! 😀
      I know right!! haha it seems to be a common theme 😉 quite a few people seem to agree!! Ahh I was the same about POVs in GoT!! I absolutely wanted to skip, though I never did (especially to Dany or Jon!)

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Congrats on 1000 followers! WOAH! That’s a big deal. ❤ Keep up the great work!

    I have totally canceled plans to read. Mostly because I am a book club slacker. I always wait until the last minute. O_o Oops! So, sorta like work? Maybe?

    Like

  19. mudandstars says:

    Wooo congrats on 1337 followers, that’s fabulous and very well deserved (very random milestones that WordPress acknowledges haha)! 😀 I completely agree with you re. the Lizzie McGuire movie. That came out of nowhere!! And I never managed to finish any Virginia Woolf either. Maybe one day…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

