Book Borrowing Horror Story!!!

Okay- that title implies quite a bit more drama than actually ensued, but I thought it would be fun considering my post the other day where I basically said that I find writing in books (for the most part) a-okay, to flip the conversation on its head and talk about why I’m hesitant to lend books and the perhaps surprising fact that if people mess with my bookish babies, they will have to deal with the full force of a monkey wielding a bunch of bananas…

form50027

I also have to add that this post was inspired by a wonderful post Emily @Embuhlee Liest did a while back where she shared a harrowing story of borrowing betrayal… You guys should check it out!!

twilightMy own story revolves around an unsuspecting series I’ve actually unhauled- so I shouldn’t actually have been as scarred by this as I was- and that book series was Twilight. I know, I know- this is the equivalent of my saying “I’m really upset by what happened to my reader’s digests I stored in my basement for years”. But whatever, let’s go back in time to my teenage years, when sparkly vampires were a thing (yes as much as we’d all like to forget it, it was in fact a thing) and this actually mattered to me. It was just before the films came out and only two of us in my 60-in-a-year girl’s school had read these books. So when someone I wasn’t too friendly with asked if she could borrow the first one from me, the resident bookworm, I said yes…

When she was done with it, she wanted to lend it to her friend, and then she wanted to lend it to her friend and before I knew it, my books had passed through every girl in my year! (Yes, yes, I blame myself for spreading this cancer to this day). Not only did it take me ages to track down where these books had ended up, but when I was finally reunited with my books, they were all torn and beat up- the *horror*!! And of course, everyone said “I got them like this”.

So because of all this I have some pretty darn strict rules for lending books:

  • I don’t lend books I expect to get back. If a book is special to me, it’s staying right where I can see it.
  • I only lend to people that reciprocate- partly cos it’s like a book hostage situation- “wanna see your book again… well then give me mine back!”
  • Mess up my books and expect the aforementioned banana pelting (and for the record- just cos I said writing in books is fine, don’t write in your friends books!)
  • Lastly if someone says “oh I lent it to someone else…” well let’s just say the person will be going on my lending blacklist- I don’t care if the person is your gf/bf, mother, aunt, best friend’s sister- don’t lend out books on my behalf! Not cool!!

That’s all for today! Hope you’re having a lovely Sunday! Do you have any rules for book borrowing? Let me know in the comments!

72 thoughts on “Book Borrowing Horror Story!!!

  1. A Paradoxical Millennial says:

    I couldn’t agree more on your rules. I once lent a great book – one which is relatively obscure and not easy to find – to a good mate of mine. Unfortunately, said mate is not the tidiest or most careful person in the world, and it disappeared for months. I found it a long time later down the back of his sofa, the pages all crinkled and the dust cover half torn-off. Could have bloody killed him!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    I hate lending my books to people for this exact reason – you never how they’re going to treat your books or if you’ll ever get them back 😛 There was this one girl who I was best friends with who wanted to borrow a book and because she never read and I was always trying to get her to read, I said yes and then months later I still hadn’t gotten my book back. I was at her house and found my book lying on her bedroom floor with the cover all bent. Needless to say, I haven’t let her borrow books again, haha!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Bookstooge says:

    Good rules. Rules to live by in fact.
    I no longer lend out my physical books. If someone is interested in a book I read, I’ll lend them an ebook copy. They don’t have an ereader? Go buy the paper book yourself then!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Nel says:

    I used to let this girl borrow my books because she let me borrow her books but I always gave hers back in a timely matter. When I would ask for mine back, she would always tell me she lent them to another girl we worked with and that was never true. So one time I went to her house I found all my books plus the co-workers books and just took them all! Now there’s only one person who borrows my books because I know where she works and lives and she knows I would stalk her to the ends of the Earth for my books if necessary 😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ah yes, I’ve been in that exact situation recently- I can *totally* relate!! I borrowed someone’s books and always gave them back within a week or two- or at least the next time I saw them. I wouldn’t even borrow from them if I had too much on my tbr and didn’t think I’d have time to read it. But then when I lent them my books… they took 6 months to return them and lent them to their girlfriend (who was going to Australia). Not cool!! hahahaa yes!!! Us bookworms would go to the ends of the earth to protect our books!!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. daleydowning says:

    I definitely don’t lend to anyone, except my 14 year-old (because I literally know where he lives), and my mother, because she always gives back something I say I want back. Otherwise I recommend the title to others, but remind them of the perks of having a library card!

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Krysta says:

    The same thing happened to me years ago! I lent a book to someone and somehow it ended up being lent to SEVERAL someones. And, yes, books are always returned beat up, dirty, with covers ripped, etc. I don’t understand. When I borrow someone’s books I treat them better than I might treat my own! It does make me hesitant to lend. I don’t wish to be stingy, but I also am tired of my property being ruined when I don’t have much money to buy books in the first place.

    Liked by 4 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh gosh that’s the worst!!! Yes- that’s the worst part about them!! I’m the *exact* same- while I wouldn’t say I’m unconcerned about my own books, I *definitely* make a special effort with other people’s books. You know, even little things, like cracking the spine on my own books- I’ll be super careful with someone else’s pristine condition. Because people want their books back in the exact same condition they lent them!! And that’s not unreasonable!! Yes- I’m the same!! I feel really bad about it, especially when people are in my house eyeing my favourite books and I’m like “nope- take this one I don’t really care for” because I just know if I give them my favourites I’ll never see them again!!

      Like

  7. Briana says:

    Pretty sure someone borrowed a book from me once and dropped it in puddle, then claimed it had been that way when she got it. Uh, no.

    People don’t generally ask to borrow my books (I kind of wish people would), but I would hope that now that I’m older people would be more respectful or else offer to pay for something they clearly damaged. But then I also know some people who are very insistent they’re just flat out broke and probably would not replace a $10 novel if they ruined it. (And I mean people who go out to eat, to the movies, etc. and clearly spend money on entertainment, not people who are seriously on a budget.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! ahh I know right!!! Someone did that to me recently and I pretty much saw RED!! And they just went “oh you don’t mind do you? You know them”. So not cool- they’re on my blacklist now.

      Like

  8. thesarahdoughty says:

    Oh gosh, can I relate. I kept my mother-in-law my hard copy of Lisey’s Story and she not only failed to read it after about six months, but she returned it with a ripped dust jacket. “Just tape it,” she said. If knives could fly… 😂😂😒

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Hilary @ SongsWroteMyStory says:

    I’ve totally been there. I actually took a book on a school trip to Cuba and lent it to the girl I was sharing a room with… Who lent it to someone else… And so on over the week (it was fairly short)… And the person who had it last left it in Cuba. It wasn’t a book I was overly concerned with, but I wasn’t pleased.

    I only lend my books to people I know I can trust, which is about three people. It makes it easier, and I know I don’t need to worry about them.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Nathan says:

    My best friend knows the rules and actually had a copy of Best Served Cold bought before I knew his kid had ripped the cover off. I felt bad…but I took it anyway. He knows I would do the same for him.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Shoto says:

    I don’t lend out books for a similar reason. Gave it to one person who lent it to her friends. It came to to me with a cracked spine and a torn cover </3 IT WASN'T HERS TO GIVE AWAY!!??
    (I'm sorry i have a lot of pent up anger about this xD)

    Liked by 3 people

  12. dragonsandzombies says:

    I try to lend out my books all the time but no one is interested 😦

    I miss my friends in Germany! We were always swapping books around.. I didn’t really have any bad experiences, but I only used to give my books to nice people anyways haha 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Panic At The Bookstore says:

    I saw the title and I was like boy this is going down and this sucks! I hate it when people just share your property like they got it themselves and when people don’t realize how precious books are . Like you don’t deserve to read if you can’t keep it carefully. Well you can see me getting aggressive here hehe but I hate that; I try my best to make up an excuse and never lend books to someone who totally isn’t crazy about books like me. -Avi

    Liked by 3 people

  14. littlebookynook says:

    Oh Twilight, we all went through that awkward phase didn’t we! I love your rules, I think it’s good to have rules otherwise you will either end up with ruined books or not getting them back. I only have set people I lend my books to, who have proven their worth 😀 I had a friend who’s dog ripped up one of my books…that was sad, even though they weren’t my favourite books…they’re still books! Awesome post, it made me smile 😊

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha yes!! Thank you! 😀 Absolutely!! Yes, I completely understand that- I’m the same now! 😀 ahh gosh- that’s terrible!! I get it- cos even if it’s not your favourite (like Twilight for me) it’s still a massive pain!! Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    That’s horrible! Even if it was Twilight! I actually read the Twilight novels by borrowing them from a friend since there was a hold list in the library because they were so popular. But I read the first one in three days and gave it back, and that’s pretty much how it was for all of them. I like to treat other’s books how I want mine to be treated because I have had some serious horror stories with people borrowing my books. And there is honestly nothing worse than the person you lend then to then going and lending them to someone else. It’s unethical! But anyway, great story!

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha thank you!! Yeah that’s the reason I lent it out in the first place- cos it was so hard for people to get hold of. Ahh that’s good. Yes, I’m the same- if anything I’m more careful with other people’s books than my own. Yes- so true!! It really bothers me when people do that! Thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Hayley at RatherTooFondofBooks says:

    They are good rules! I learnt the hard way never to lend out books that I want back because you can’t trust anybody. Even the people I thought I could trust have either kept books, or given them back with some damage to them… so now I just don’t lend books. If it’s a close person to me who wants to read a book I have sometimes just bought them a copy as a gift so as not to risk lending my copy if it’s a book that is special to me.

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    This was tooooo funny. #bookworm problems at their best! “Yes, yes, I blame myself for spreading this cancer to this day” had me laughing out loud! How your perception of that series evolved brings hope in humanity. 😛 😛 😛 I say this, but I have neither read the books or seen the movies. 😀 Those rules are fantastic though, but man… lending a book to a bookworm is just a synonym to “Goodbye.” with no “Welcome back.” hahahahah

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hhehehee I know right!! hehe to be fair, it was always a bit of a guilty pleasure- and I’ve always said the first one was the best in the series (apart from the fact that the vampires sparkled, obviously). But by the end of that series- man, had I changed my mind on it!! I mean it was always trashy, but jeez the direction it took!! WTF!? (Again, the sparkliness of the vamps should have been a surefire sign- I’ll put it down to being young and stupid 😉 ) I think most people grew out of that series 😉 haha the only bit worth watching from the movies is when they all kill each other- it’s hilarious! (annoyingly it’s all a vision) hahaha so true!!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. embuhlee says:

    Auuugh no, that’s awful! D: The poor little book. There was a good deal of that multi-sharing going on in my high school too – mostly manga being circulated between about 20 people… I admit I was a recipient more than once of books whose owners I couldn’t pinpoint. I never ‘made the book worse’ though, I swear. And I did try to find out whose it was. I gave it back if I found a name.

    Thanks for the link, by the way. I saw a spike in my stats and was all “Wheeeeere is that coming from?’ xD

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I know right!!! Yeah the multi-sharing (great term!!) is such a pain!! haha I totally understand that- although I don’t recall another incident like it 😉 I usually just borrowed from the library. That’s so good that you at least tried to return it!
      You’re welcome!! I’m glad 😀 xD

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Olivia says:

    I have a friend who used to willingly lend books but wouldn’t ever let anyone break their spines. We used to have to open them a centimetre and peer down into the pages trying to read!

    Liked by 2 people

  20. Storyteller says:

    Story of my life most of my Harry Potter & Twilight series books never made it back.
    It baffles me how people borrow books and end up lending them🙄 NOT COOL!
    There are no second chances in life if you do this once you’re NEVER getting a book from me again.
    I will lie with a straight face and say that someone else has it while the book is napping in my study.

    Liked by 3 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      ahh that’s terrible!! Yes- I one hundred percent agree with you- I don’t get why people think it’s okay to do that!!
      Yes- I am the *exact* same!! Someone I know did this to me recently- they’re on the blacklist now for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Zezee says:

    I’m all for strick lending protocols. I hardly loan my books to anyone. Except my mom or bro and that’s because we live together so I can take back my book wheneve.

    Liked by 2 people

  22. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Yikes! I would not want that to happen to my books, even if it IS a copy of Twilight! The only book lending rule I have is that they must sign the book out (I have a notebook for this) with their name, email, and cell phone number. I then pester them within 4 weeks of the book vanishing from my sight. So many books have walked away never to come back! This will not happen again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

