Why I’m a Reader Tag

Whoa- I can’t believe it’s Wednesday already- where has this week gone? So I’m back with a very chilled post today to make up for lost time 😉

Thank you so much to Emily @embuhleeliest for tagging me to do this- she’s awesome and makes fantastic content so I recommend you check her out!!

Choose one word to describe yourself as a reader.

Hungry! (That’s why I rate my books in bananas 😉 )

What is the first book that made you fall in love with reading?

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

Harry Potter! I was 7 and my brother had the first three- I binge read them and never looked back!

Hardback or paperback?

Hardbacks tend to be prettier… not that I usually get them- it’s usually paperbacks all the way. But if money were no object, I’d probably get loads more hardbacks.

How has reading shaped your identity?

Phew- hard to even explain. I don’t know who I’d be without reading. Stories have helped me through difficult times, brought me friends (both real and fictional), led me to university, formed my moral compass, given me my greatest passions (namely writing!) and finally brought me to blogging. To say it’s made me who I am would probably be an understatement.

What book do you read when you want to be comforted?

Emma_Jane_Austen_book_cover

Rereading Emma is like getting a great big hug.

Who influenced you or taught you to be a reader?

Well my mum always took us to the library every week (sometimes every few days) when we were little and then encouraged me to read her favourite books when I was older. And I had a really good friend who was a massive bookworm from childhood who pretty much gave me non-stop recommendations.

Describe your dream reading lounge

Ooh fun!!! A cosy, with lots of comfy armchairs, a roaring fire and plenty of magical snacks… basically the Gryffindor common room…

gryffindor common room.gif

What book changed how you saw the world?

noughts-and-crosses

I remember this distinctly cos I was about 11 when I read it and knew very little about the world beyond my own community- it was a huge eye-opener.

And that’s all for now- I’m not tagging anyone today- because *laziness*- but please feel free to do it if you haven’t already!

So how has reading shaped who *you* are? Let me know in the comments!!

58 thoughts on “Why I’m a Reader Tag

  1. littlebookynook says:

    Oooh I am going to do this one!! I liked Emma, I read it years after the movie Clueless and I was like “hey!!”. And totally YES to the Gryffindor common room, reading whilst drinking a mug of butter beer mmmmm!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    I have to do this tag! I don’t know if reading really shaped who I am per say but I fell in love with reading early with Ramona books by Judy Blume. They were my life for a while and then when I hit high school it was an escape because I wasn’t very social then. One of my absolute favorites books that I had to read for school was The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas. I think that sealed my love for books of all time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh awesome!! Oh cool- I read loads by Judy Blume, though I don’t remember reading that one. Ah yes, they really helped me too, especially learning about growing up. Oh I *adore* that book!! It’s amazing!! One of the best adventure stories of all time! Have you read Count of Monte Cristo by him as well?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nel says:

        Yes! I have and if you ever want to see a modern-ish artsy colorful version, you should watch the anime. It’s called Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo. There’s a manga version as well but it’s pretty, freaking cool.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff says:

    I particularly love what you said about your mother taking you to the library and sharing some of her favorite books. In my case it was my dad and I have such lovely memories of reading Dumas books with him and other classics like the Chronicles of Narnia. I also agree with your choice of the Gryffindor common room for your perfect reading lounge. How lovely that sounds.😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      ahh awesome. Funnily enough while I was reading English at University, I actually read far less for pleasure- I guess I had my hands full 😉 But as soon as I left it picked up for me again too!! Oh it’s fantastic- it’s YA, but it’s really unique!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie says:

    Ahah oh yes, the Gryffondor common room is the perfect reading nook for sure! 🙂 Also, I would love to get more Hardbacks as well but…they’re quite expensive, that always makes me sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Wow, that’s an interesting choice to read at eleven! And it’s so cool that your mom encouraged you to read 🙂 Mine did too, and I think it’s really important to have that growing up.
    The Gryffindor common room would be the best place to read, for sure!
    I really want to read Emma. I’ve watched two adaptations (one with Gwyneth Paltrow, the other with Romola Garai) and enjoyed both, so it’s time to finally reach for the source material – especially now that I know it’s like getting a great big hug! ^^
    Amazing tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dragonsandzombies says:

    Aw yes, ‘Emma’ is my comfort movie 😀 I never read the novel, but LOVE the adaptation. Harry Potter was not the book that got me into reading, but the book that made me interested in Fantasy and started my love for the genre 🙂 Together with another book that featured flying horses 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      • dragonsandzombies says:

        Lightning’s daughter by mary h herbert, its the second part of a series 🙂

        My local bookstore didn’t have many fantasy novels so i didn’t have much choice and picked up whatever they had 😀

        Like

  7. MFlynn says:

    I couldn’t even answer the first question for this one- there’s a photo of me as a toddler on a huge armchair absolutely surrounded by books, so whatever book got me on this track is lost to history, haha. I can’t ever remember not reading. The reading lounge question is especially intriguing- on the one hand I adore the idea of being cozily indoors on a comfy chair with rain outside, but on the other, some of my favorite reading times have come outside in a park or on a balcony or porch. Of course outside you have to deal with bugs, but even that’s pretty minor in return for gorgeous weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh yes, I’m exactly the same, I can’t remember not reading either- so I get what you mean. But when I was younger it was just something I did- it wasn’t a big deal and I didn’t have the same bookworm urges that I have now 😉 . Absolutely- I know what you mean!! It’s lovely to be all snug inside, but it’s also just so nice to be outside in the sun (cos I live in England the latter is rarer 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

