Series I Won’t Be Finishing #noguilt (okay a little bit of guilt…)

Hello, my name is the Orangutan Librarian and I am a series-finisher (sounds like I’m starting an AA meeting). But after starting a couple of series recently I wasn’t too keen on, I want to make a commitment to myself *not to* continue reading the rest of the series- no matter what!!

but it is not this day2.jpg

Because there are plenty more fish in the sea and there are books crammed into every bookshelf/library/shop/orifice and OH MY GOD I AM DROWNING UNDER A NEVERENDING TBR!!!

  1. Killables– arghhh I could not think of a single reason to recommend this book to anyone. The only problem is that they have this book in the library to tempt me. But no- I WILL BE STRONG!!!

stay strong.gif

  1. Caraval– it had its moments, but that ending made me just give up on it. I just can’t bring myself to read the sequel- I’m out.

I'm out.gif

  1. Outlander– as you may remember from my posts months ago, I rage quit this series- I won’t be picking up another one.

Abandon

  1. Long Way To A Small Angry Planet– hahahaha I had to put this one on here- but it’s actually hilarious to think about reading the second one when I only finished the first so that I could rage review it. I think my thoughts about this book can be summed up thusly:

laugh cry.gif

  1. Bronze Horseman– nope, just nope. I’m not gonna read any more of this because *YEUCH*.

yuck.gif

  1. Knife of Never Letting Go- okay, so unpopular opinion here, but I hated the style of this one. The Grammar Nazi in me just could not deal.

leaving.gif

  1. Thief’s Magic– I have a love-hate relationship with Canavan- and even though they have copies in all the libraries I frequent I have no desire to carry on with this series. I just did not connect with any of the characters in this- not a-one.

I'm done.gif

  1. Queen of the Tearling– what makes me feel better about this one- aside from being bored stiff with the first one- is that I’ve heard a lot of people didn’t like the finale and said it wasn’t worth finishing anyway.

Im out.gif

  1. An Ember in the Ashes– another unpopular opinion, but I really wasn’t sold on this series and have no desire to read the second.

nope

  1. Talon– okay, I’ll admit I read the second one, even though I hated the first one, because it had a scaly cover and I love dragons. Buuut no more!! I will not read another whiny book about non-dragons masquerading as mythical wyrms. I just cannot.

bye.gif

Annd on that note it’s time to say goodbye for today! (Yes, yes this post was just an excuse for a million goodbye gifs). Did you agree or disagree with my choices? What series have you quit? Let me know in the comments!

62 thoughts on “Series I Won’t Be Finishing #noguilt (okay a little bit of guilt…)

  1. readinginthewings says:

    OMG. QUEEN OF THE TEARLING. The ending made me so mad. It basically cancelled out THE ENTIRE SERIES. WHAT WAS THE POINT. *sigh* Also, Outlander. I am obsessed with the first book. SO GOOD. Now I’m on the 6th one and they just keep getting worse and I love the characters but I feel like I have to force myself to read them. I recently started watching the show tho and its making me want to re-read the first one….

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh that’s what I’ve been hearing. I’m glad I’m quitting while I’m (sort of) ahead with that one. As for Outlander- well I’m not gonna be round about with it- watching what happened with Jamie in the show has done me in for life with the whole story- whether it’s the books or the show. I get why people like it, but everyone has their limits I suppose

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly says:

    I actually just started reading An Ember in the Ashes the other day because it’s been sitting on my shelf for sooo long. I’ve heard really mixed things about it so I wasn’t really sure what to expect. Right now I’m about half way through and it’s okay, but there are definitely some things that are problematic… anyways, great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie says:

    I’m always glad to hear you weren’t such a fan of The Knife of Never Letting Go, I kind of had a hard time getting into the book as well…I don’t know yet whether or not I’ll give up on this series though, but I’m in no rush to make a decision about this ahah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nel says:

    I am on the Outlander train! The first book was great but the second one dragged and I can’t even remember if I made it to the third one. I’m perfectly content with following the show. Also agree with Talon. I picked up An Ember in the Ashes at a book store but now I’m not sure if I want to read it, haha. Don’t feel guilty! It is what it is. I have plenty of these series where I just couldn’t finish despite the millions of great reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hehe well I’m only getting off the train cos of what happened to Jamie at the end of series/book 1- just ruined the series for me :/ but there’s a lot of great things about it, so I get why people like it- just not for me anymore. Glad you agree on Talon though!! haha well lots of people like it- so I really hope you’re one of those people- I definitely wouldn’t say that’s a bad book, just a little overhyped. Thank you!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. daleydowning says:

    Here, here!!! I have no qualms about giving up on a series that just doesn’t do it for me. My only exceptions have been Twilight (I had a sort of sick fascination with seeing if it really was as bad as everybody claimed), and Divergent and The Hunger Games, out of a hope that it would get better. But since neither of those trilogies did for me, I’m now sticking to my guns. I even decided not to read the 4th and last of Jackaby, because the 3rd let me down so much. Not going down that path again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! hahaha I can understand that- I’ve had the *exact* same feeling about certain book series before, including Twilight, so I can totally relate. And yes, I agree with you about Divergent too- though that one I enjoyed the ride, but every time I thought about it too much my brain went: *oh-gawd-no!* Hahaha yes- I’ve done that so many times too!! I’m finally learning my lesson to give up on series unless I hear that the second one is a massive improvement.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer says:

    I totally agree with you about Knife of Never Letting Go – I only finished it so I could rage review it! It made me so mad, lol. It is a totally unpopular opinion too! I’m glad I have another book blogger who didn’t like it… such a good thing you quitting series if you didn’t like the first one! Keep strong!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    Love all the gifs! I agree about Outlander. I have read the first two and I was bored out of my mind! They are unnecessarily long and wordy. But, because I am me, I have to read the third one since it was once supposed to be a trilogy, also, I already own a copy of it. After that I am done. I can’t believe that series has gone on so long, and there will be at least 10 books! That’s so unnecessary! And I actually really liked An Ember in the Ashes, but I haven’t picked up the sequel, despite having owned a copy since the day of its release. We’ll see how that goes. Anyway, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! Yes they are- but the straw that broke the camel’s back was actually watching the series and what happened to Jamie. Just not for me. Ah that’s fair enough- I really don’t think it’s a bad book at all- it was just that the hype killed it for me and it didn’t blow me away. If I hadn’t been expecting so much more from it, I’d have probably have finished- but ah well. Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    I admire your ability to commit to not continuing a series!! I often decide I won’t continue, then get swayed every time someone raves about the series so much I wonder if maybe I missed something and should persevere. Fortunately, though, my wavering almost never comes to anything because there are too many other tempting books and series out there to read.

    Btw, I share your unpopular opinion when it comes to Ember in the Ashes. It totally seems like a book I should love (fantasy! forbidden love!) but I just wasn’t into it, so also won’t be continuing… I think… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you! Ahh yes- I’ve been the same- there are quite a number of series that I fear that could happen with- these are just the ones that I absolutely do not want to read any more of 😉 That’s good!!
      haha I know right- it seemed like it would be amazing- it’s really not a bad book, but it just wasn’t for me and didn’t live up to the crazy hype!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. dragonsandzombies says:

    Yeah, Thief’s Magic!I didn’t continue after the first book of the trilogy. I don’t even know why I always go back to Canavan, because I did not finish most of her books or series. But it always sounds great. And I found out that she’s not living far away from me!I gotta support the locals 😀

    Outlander.. I never read it,but am watching. Slowly. And while I am doing other stuff. I kinda liked season. I mean I liked the music and the Scottish accents 😀
    The second season is way to rapey and the whole French court thing annoyed me. Glad they are back in Scotland now because this is where I actually pay a bit more attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha I understand that. I keep going back to her because even though I disliked the first of the Black Magician’s trilogy, I ended up loving it- so now I always want to give her series a second chance- 11 books later… and I just know I can’t finish this series.
      Awesome- I actually really liked it- just hated what happened at the end of season 1 to Jamie- it’s what spoilt the book for me as well, though I do understand why people like it. hehe I found the first season too rapey for me- so I’m glad I quit while I was “ahead” then!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Kat Impossible says:

    I always have such a hard time quitting series, but sometimes it just has to be done. I never even got through the first book of Outlander for example, so there was no point in ever even considering to not finish it. With others I have powered through even though I didn’t enjoy them. It always depended on my time.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    Of course I LOL’d at Caraval. I think I need not say anymore about that one 😉 Not surprised to see that Killables made the list either. I am a bit disheartened to see Queen of the Tearling and Outlander on here, as I have yet to start them. Now very nervous 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  12. bruceonthefringe says:

    Great gifs! Especially Buffy’s face! Series I will never finish, Anne Rice’s vampire books. Interview and Lestat were amazing, Queen of the Damned getting a bit boggy, Body Thief – I just stopped caring. Many years ago I read Stephen Donaldson’s first trilogy of Thomas Covenant, totally amazing, so later I read the 2nd trilogy, hated it but plowed thru, nah, annoying til the end. Some years later I read both again and actually enjoyed the later books (though still not as good as the first three). Years went by and he produced even more chronicles of Mr Covenant. Both hardbacks were given me as presents, sadly I have been totally unable to get into the first of them, really I tried, after all, from experience I knew to revisit, but no. Maybe one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! Hehe yes I love that one 😉 Ahh yes, I’ve heard that one goes off the boil- I’ve only read the first one and have the next one lying around waiting to be read- need to get on with that- but I’m definitely taking people’s advice on that and quitting after that point. Haven’t read that second series though. Ah I totally understand that.

      Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha don’t worry I’m sure I’ll stumble across more dreadful books in the future without the need to actively seek out ones I know I already don’t like 😉 (though I will admit the idea of reading the second one in the angry planet series is slightly hilarious to me, given how much I hated it)

      Liked by 1 person

  13. LizScanlon says:

    LOL, love this post… you’re too right to just quit while you’re ahead.
    Life’s too short and time too valuable to spend time on those meh reads… and even though Queen of the Tearling trilogy was good work!!! I wish I would have stopped after book 1 myself… sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    YOU ARE MY SPIRIT ANIMAL. YES. Life is too short for books you don’t enjoy. I justed to be a series finisher, and then I realized I was reading crappy books I didn’t enjoy instead of filling my life with fun and happy. Mistakes were made. Lessons were learned.

    The whole Chaos Walking trilogy? Manchee was the best part. And that’s not saying much. O_o I haven’t read books from any other trilogy you’ve mentioned here, but that just makes me want to find your rage-y reviews. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hehehe aww thank you!! So true!! I was the exact same- but then I had the same realisation. It’s just not worth continuing with series I’m not enjoying!
      Hehehe that’s so true 😉 Haha I only read the first one and I barely had any idea what was going on… I just did not get it. I read that before blogging though 😉 hehehe thanks so much!!!

      Like

  15. inspirationpie says:

    Great job on this post! Definitely entertaining with the gifs 🙂 The only thing I disagree with is Outlander…I love that series ❤ Reading the comments above, I can see why it's not for everyone, though. What was the last book Outlander book you read?

    Great blog! I just started following and thank you for following back!

    Jo-Ann

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! haha I get that- I actually think there’s a lot of things to like about it- but I was watching the show at the same time as reading it, and when it got to the end of season 1, I just couldn’t handle what happened to Jamie (really it was the TV version that did it, but that translated over into me not being able to look at the book the same way anymore). It ruined the whole thing for me I’m afraid. But that’s purely personal, I liked it up until that point.
      Thank you so much and you’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Oh I’m really proud of you! I don’t think I’d be able to leave some series unfinished, EVEN if I wasn’t feeling them. There’s always that nagging thought that I may like them in the end and I would be wasting it if I didn’t give it a shot.
    Like #8 and #9. I will definitely be finishing them but they’re not my favorite books in the world. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh thank you!! Yes I really struggle with this too. I get that- cos in the past I’d have finished those series even though I wasn’t crazy on the first ones, just in the hope it would get better and wanting to know how they finished. Buuut I just have too many other books to read now so I’m gonna give them a miss! Thank you!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

