The Listicle Tag: Top 5 books you’ll never be caught with in public

Hoho today you are in for a treat! And by treat I mean something pretty different to my normal content. Last week I was tagged by the incredible Liis– who you absolutely *must* check out because not only is her blog is amazing, but she’s also one of the nicest people on here! – and I just had to do it as soon as possible cos this topic is g o l d.

Rules:

  • Create your own listicle tag, using the prompt from the person who tagged you.
  • Tag the creator of the post (not-so-modern-girl!) so that she can read all your brilliant posts and see how the joy of listicles is being spread.-
  • Nominate as many people as you want!
  • Set those 5 people the subject/prompt of their listicle post!

Now I’m going to be candid with this (because otherwise what’s the point?) and share books I’ve actually read here. And why is this going to be embarrassing? Because sometimes I read books with *ahem* adult content (though I’m hardly a connoisseur)… So stands to reason I’d be embarrassed to be seen with some of these covers in public. Also, if you are underage or aren’t too fond of this kind of material, avert your eyes now!

feral sins

Guilty pleasure- no judging!!

never trust a pirate

Actually the cover’s not too damning- just don’t read the blurb 😉 On the plus side, this author’s pretty good if you’re into this sort of thing, just a bit samey after a while.

captive prince

Well at least the cover for this one’s not bad, but I would still be worried that someone would know what this one was about or read too much over my shoulder!!

City_of_Bones (1)

I’m not really embarrassed by this one, but I feel like to save my blushes I could name something a little less raunchy- plus that cover really implies it’s much sexier than it is.

fifty shades of grey

I’d mostly be embarrassed by the fact that this is an awful, awful book.

Okay- now that’s over with- I tag:

Nel @Reactionary Tales

James @ This is my Truth Now

Sarah @Between the Pages

Angelica @Book Cover Girls

Rivermoose reads

My topic is going to be a bit more PG: Top 5 non-human characters in books (count yourselves lucky I didn’t just say top five monkeys in books 😉 )

Phew- this feels like I’ve been airing my dirty laundry! What book would you be embarrassed to be seen with in public? Let me know in the comments below!

57 thoughts on “The Listicle Tag: Top 5 books you’ll never be caught with in public

  1. Nel says:

    Ooooh fun! When you say non human is the sky the limit here? Werewolves, dragons, witches? I already know who number one is going to be.
    I agree with City of Bones and 50 shades of Grey. I’d be more embarrassed than anything! Another cover I lived but wouldn’t​ read in public is City in Embers by Stacey Marie Brown but (!) It does have a psuedo monkey spirit character in it who has a love affair with honey! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    Oooh, how fun! Thanks so much for the tag! And thanks for going a bit easier on us. I feel like my number one book I would not want to caught reading in public is Fifty Shades of Grey. I remember back in high school a few years ago everyone was reading it, just casually walking around the halls with it in hand. I would be mortified if my friends and teachers saw me reading it. City of bones is a close second. That cover doesn’t help lol. Anyway, great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      You’re very welcome!! haha I’m glad it’s a bit easier! 😉 haha I know right- I saw that a lot at the time and I can’t believe people were actually reading that in public!! it was crazy- I’d be so embarrassed- partly cos of the content, but mostly cos it’s terribly written! hahaha I know right!! Thank you!!

      Like

  3. James J. Cudney IV says:

    Yikes! I wouldn’t know what to do with 5 monkeys. It’d be Curious George all over the place!

    Cool tag. I’m so glad I don’t have to do the one you were tagged on… I can come up with 5 creatures. 🙂 Thanks for the tag. Love checking out your site — always fun.

    I’m with Nel. There WILL be witches.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bookstooge says:

    Listicle. All I could think of was how that sounds like testicle. Then I read your post and laughed at just how (in)appropriate that comparison was 😀

    The two books that spring to mind that I wouldn’t want to be seen reading in public were “The Monk” and “Lady Chatterly’s Lovers”. Mostly because both had garishly lurid covers…

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Sarah @betweenthepages says:

    Hahaha City of Bones! I’ve never been much of a fan of the covers, I have to say…I thought I would grow to like them, but the thing is: I DON’T imagine Jace’s hair like that!! ☹😂 (the show has really tricked me) I’m honestly such a picky, judgy person about book covers (I go against everything bookworms swear by hehehe). Someone had to really convince me to read the TMI series, but I’m definitely glad I listened! Still haven’t learnt my lesson, I don’t think, though.😂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. notsomoderngirl says:

    Great post, love your choices- I’ve not read any of them but I can see why this kind of book would be embarrassing to read- although I believe that you should never feel tooo guilty about reading any books!! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. alilovesbooks says:

    And this is why I’m so thankful for ebooks and audios, although I always have the fear with audios that the person sitting next to me on the train can hear the highly erotic scene I’m listening to 🙂

    I’ve read and enjoyed pretty much every book on that list. I haven’t read Captive Prince but really, really want to. I think I could probably get away with a physical copy of that one as I highly doubt my fellow commuters will know what it’s about (or if they do they should be as embarrassed as me)

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ahh I know right!! hehehe I’m the exact same, though what I’m worried about is being on a packed tube and someone reading over my shoulder… 😉

      Ahh awesome!! I liked the first one, but wasn’t totally sold on it yet, I’m waiting to see how the series progresses before I make up my mind… hehehe I reckon you’re right- most people won’t know what it’s about 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I’m always conscious of the cover when I take a book out with me. I shouldn’t really care what about that, but I really don’t like to be stared at while I’m reading. 😂 That’s probably why I tend to take my Kindle with me, plus it takes up less space as well. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. LizScanlon says:

    Whoooot! You did the tag- that is awesome, thank you so much for being willing to share! 😉
    And thank you SO much for the kind words… they went straight to heart ❤

    OK… on to books… the first 3 books you listed I will HAVE to check out.. the blurbs and the reviews! Proper intrigued now… although indeed, some of those covers don't look that… 'threatening'..

    50 shades.. I am so glad I haven't wasted my time on this series… I have managed to feast my eyes upon some excerpts and I think for the LOL possibility I would be interested in reading but it would then take me ages because I'd want to share every damn cringeworthy moment 😀

    Thanks again for doing the tag 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you again for tagging me!! You’re very welcome- I meant every word 😀 ❤
      hahaha well I wouldn't say they're the best books on the market, buuut they were enjoyable 😉 haha I know right- quite innocent looking covers (mostly 😉 )
      Oh gosh yeah, I only read the first one, out of curiosity and I can't fully express what a waste of time it is!! hahaha I totally get that!!
      You're welcome- thank *you* for tagging me- it was so fun!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    Bahaha! Well at least you did not enjoy Fifty Shades.. or did you 😉 I am rolling that you slid City of Bones in there to sort of “save face”. It is okay, we all have guilty pleasures, but I admit this is not really one of mine. I don’t think? I really don’t know because I avoid it. Maybe I am afraid 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    Haha this is a fun tag! I think I’d also be embarrassed to read these in public, most particularly the first and last ones (the first one only because of the cover, haven’t read it so can’t comment on the content!). There are a few fantasy and paranormal romances I enjoyed but would try and conceal while reading – one that comes to mind is ‘Slave to Sensation’, just because even without the cover image the title gives away the type of content! 😉

    Btw ‘non-human heroes’ is the theme of next month’s tough travels feature so I’ll be posting some of my favourites soon too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you! hahaha yes, for sure!! hahaha trust me- it’s as bad as the cover suggests 😉 hahahaha yes, that title is hilarious- and I now need to check out the cover too to see if it is really as bad… haha ok, yeah that cover is pretty embarrassing!
      ooh so excited to see that!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Sue Bursztynski (@SueBursztynski) says:

    I’ve never read any of these, but the Cassandra Clare book/series is hugely popular in my school library, with the girls, anyway. I heard C.S Pacat talk about her book at the Melbourne Writers Festival, in a panel on historical fantasy. It sounded an awful lot like something we used to call “hurt/comfort” in fan fiction when I was reading and writing it, and I’ve never been a fan if either hurt/comfort or slash fiction, so I wasn’t tempted. Is it any good? Even if you wouldn’t be seen with it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      ah yes, that series is everywhere. Ah that’s cool- it did have its origins as fanfic so that makes sense! (apparently- I’ve heard this around anyway) It was decent- but it wasn’t as good as a lot of the rave reviews made me believe- so I want to check out the rest of the series to see if it gets better.

      Like

  13. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Hahahaha I love your confessions! XD We all have our guilty pleasures, it’s alright 😉
    I personally would be drawn to Feral Sins and Never Trust a Pirate… I just feel like I would enjoy those XD
    That’s why e-readers are the best. It’s harder to read over my shoulder (especially if I tweak the brightness *winkwink*) and you don’t get to see the cover. Yay for e-readers!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Zezee says:

    I hid 50 Shades when reading it on the train, and same too for other erotica that I wanted to read on the go but felt a little embarrassed about.
    That also happened with comics, like Saga, which have graphic content but I couldn’t wait to get home to read so I read it on the train and had to peek at pages first

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

