Anything But Books Tag

Hello all!! So this has been a weird month for me, namely cos I’ve hit a *dreaded slump*. Both with my reading and my blogging. Yup- horrifying right?! I didn’t manage to post most of the things I had planned this month, so hopefully June is gonna be super exciting… But since I haven’t been doing as much reading or blogging this month, I think it’s only fair to talk about what I’ve been doing instead with the ANYTHING BUT BOOKS tag!!

Thank you so much to Kat for tagging me to do this one!! For everyone that hasn’t (for some crazy reason) checked her out yet, her blog is incredible, stuffed with brilliant reviews for books *and* TV- plus she’s adventuring round Canada right now, so you have to follow her for all her awesome updates!!

Alrighty then, onto the tag!

1. Name a cartoon that you love.

I’m assuming this counts movies, right? My three favourites are Prince of Egypt, Anastasia and Mulan!

cartoon movies.png

And cos Spring is my favourite time of year, I always try to rewatch these around now (along with getting some great rereads in) #funfact

2. What is your favourite song right now?

Ooh so you guys know how much I like sharing music, right? This question is gonna open up a can of worms, cos I’m listening to a variety of things right now:

I’m obsessed with this soundtrack right now

 

The original, not the remix

 

Cos I’ve been watching wayyy too much Supernatural lately…

3. What could you do for hours that isn’t reading?

Writing, watching movies/tv and spend time on here! Right now I’m really into old movies and have watched some excellent classics in the last week:

movies classic.png

4. What is something you love to do that your followers would be surprised by?

Hehe the second that I’m asked something like this my mind goes blank!! Exercise, maybe?! Follow sports? I love the tennis and am a *huge* Arsenal fan! Lots of *good thoughts* for the Gunners right now cos we just won the FA cup a record number of times:

arsenal fa cup 2017

(yes, yes, I know you’re all leaping out your seats with excitement for that fun tidbit 😉 )

5. What is your favourite unnecessarily specific thing to learn about?

Umm I don’t know why this is embarrassing for me but recently I’m very interested in learning about psychology…

6. What is something unusual that you know how to do?

Well, I’m not very crafty, but I do like to draw- but I don’t know if that counts cos it’s not especially “unusual”

7. Name something you made in the last year and show us if you can.

Well I’m much too shy for extracts, but I am currently working on a book (until further notice I will always be working on a book of some description 😉 )

8. What is your most recent personal project?

The aforementioned and elusive book.

9. Tell us something that you think about often?

Politics! I really, really try to avoid talking about it on here- even though a fair number of the books I read are influenced by political commentators I follow- but this actually takes up far too much of my time. Just to give you an idea of how obsessed I am, about 95% of channels I’m subscribed to on Youtube are political and I cannot even keep track of how much political commentary I read. To be honest, I’m feeling a bit politics’d-out at the minute, what with the general election coming up, so I think I’m gonna kick the habit for a bit and switch off from it all- it can be really exhausting!

10. Give us something that is your favorite, but make it oddly specific.

I’ve mentioned this before, but I love the feeling when you’re nearing the end of writing something and everything is just coming together and all those carefully laid strings of the plot you’ve left along the way are just waiting to be tied together.

I love that new scent of Spring  in the air, just as the season turns, and you know the world is coming alive again with possibilities.

I love that rush I get when I learn something new, but it actually feels like it’s something old that I’ve heard a million times before, and my whole brain just lights up, like YES, THIS IS SO TRUE.

11. Say the first thing that pops into your head.

“We are Siamese if you please…”

(my brain is weird)

Alrighty then- that’s all for now- I tag:

Donna, Danielle, J J Azar and Liis

Annnd that’s all for now- can’t believe it’s the end of MAY?!?! Where is this year going? If anyone has any idea how I can contact Time and ask him to slow down, let me know!!

89 thoughts on “Anything But Books Tag

  1. Bookstooge says:

    A slump? Man, I hope it’s not catching. I hate when I go through them because there is no sure-fire cure all. You never know what’s going to work and just because something worked 3 months ago does not mean it’ll work this time around.
    So I hope you get out of yours really fast and never get in one again!

    I gave up on supernatural when I realized that Sam & Dean were actually sisters and they just LOOKED like guys. If my younger brother and I were starring, I would have shot him in about season 3 or 4 and had no regrets 😀 Of course, he might very well have killed me a lot sooner!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    Yes, I have noticed your absence lately! Was wondering what was up! I’m in a reading slump too. I started a free book I got on Kindle but I don’t think I’m going to finish it. I made a post with book covers and no descriptions and told ppl to pick for me! 😂 Can’t deny since reading your reviews I’ve always wondered if you were going to write your own book. Thanks for the life update and please excuse another long comment of mine!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    “We are Siamese if you don’t please ..”

    I laughed at Carry on Wayward Son because my brain jumped instantly to Supernatural or “The Boys” as me and my son call them 😉 I happen to have a strong interest in psych.. which I attribute to my love of true crime that friends says is an unhealthy obsession. Thank you for tagging me!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. dragonsandzombies says:

    I love this! I might actually steal this tag later 😀

    I love ‘Anastasia’, it’s a must-see every time Christmas comes around. Also, ‘Once upon a December’ is a beautiful song! So is ‘Carry on Wayward Son’,

    ‘Mississippi Burning’! Its been ages since I last watched it haha, might see if it’s on Netflix^^

    You are a football fan? Yay! (I am not saying soccer, soccer is wrong!) My team from the Bundesliga is Schalke 04, you might have heard of them? We suck right now, but we used to be pretty good for the last decade or so. I used to go to the games often, but now I am too far away and the games are on at night… -.- I got into Australian Football though, such an amazing game! And I like watching Tennis! Mostly Australian Open, we went a couple of years ago and were lucky to see Nadal vs Nishikori!

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Oh please do!! I’d love to see your answers 😀

      Ahh yes- I totally get that- it’s gorgeous!! Agree 😀 I love both those songs!!

      haha yes, that film was insane- it pretty much made me feel every emotion there is- so good!!

      Yes!!! (haha yeah- there’s *no way* I’m calling it soccer) Ahh cool- I think they played Arsenal at some point in the Champions League (and probably beat us) cos they sound familiar. Haha don’t worry- the fact that we won something this year was a total fluke- we’ve had a rubbish season. It was shockingly bad at some points with some of the worst results I’ve ever seen. Ah I can relate to that- but I have it the other way round- the Australian Open is the only tennis tournament I never get to see anything of (although the US isn’t so much easier) Oh my gosh that’s such a fantastic match to get to see!!! Wow!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. itsmisselizabeth says:

    Kansas is my ringtone and I hear the intro every day, but never get tired of it. I love that you put it on your tag! Also I saw two tan and brown colored kitties yesterday and 11 was my very first thought 🙂 great tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Donna | Chocolate'n'Waffles says:

    Go away, bad bad slump!!!!!!
    I love this tag! We sometimes are so focused on the books that we forget there are so many others things to know about someone! I loved getting to know you better! And I’m excited for your book project, I wish you the best and all the inspiration of the world! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. JJAzar says:

    Best of luck on your book! I enjoyed learning some more about you. I didn’t know you were crazy into politics. It hits me in waves. Months before the US election, I was 110% engaged. Now…well, I couldn’t tell you what was going on because I’ve abstained to save myself the stress. Politics is no easy venture to envelop oneself in! Thank you for the tag. I’m going to port these questions on over to my upcoming Q and A (which is what I did with a tag of yours when I hit 100 followers, funnily enough!) so thank you for the ammunition and the tag!

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you!! hehe I totally get that- I’m actually proud of the fact I’ve managed to keep that obsession off here, cos sometimes it’s not so easy to switch off from it 😉 haha I totally relate to that. I agree- I’m really really trying to pay as little attention as possible because I hate election campaigns- I’d much rather just read the manifesto and be done with it :/ You’re welcome!! Ooh fantastic!! That’s very exciting!! I’m looking forward to that 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Stuart McEwan says:

    So you’re a Gunner eh? Congratulations to your team on another FA Cup triumph. Now he’s secured another two year contract, perhaps the critics will lay off Arsene Wenger and just let him do his job.

    I’m a Wolves fan myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha yes I am 😉 haha thanks- yeah it’s been a really rocky season- but I don’t hold out much hope for next season cos we sucked so much this year :/ (bar the totally surprise win)
      haha well they pretty much the coolest logo so I’m jealous!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Stuart McEwan says:

        Any manager that can guide his team to consistent Champions League football over 20 plus years, even with a fifth place finish this season, this is a ridiculous amount of success. Think of the hundreds of teams below that can only dream of seeing their team achieve this.

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Ah yes definitely agree with that. I’m behind the manager, I just felt like the club just had so much negativity this year it was depressing to follow. That and losing 10-2 on aggregate :/ I don’t care about finishing 5th or wherever, I just want the team to actually care about playing and to enjoy whatever success we get, cos at the end of the day, it’s supposed to be fun. Annnd if I’m sounding super whiny, that’s cos I’m an Arsenal fan and that seems to be our go-to at the moment 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  9. shanayatales says:

    I found your site through a friend sharing this post on twitter, and am happy to discover yet another book blogger. 🙂

    Btw, I’ve been meaning to do this post. I have even drafted it, but never published it. Will do now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. LizScanlon says:

    This tag is the bomb! brilliant and thank you so much for tagging me.. one of the best tags out there I think? 🙂

    OK, so you’re a Gunners fan? Ha, you had a good season… I’m yelling for LFC myself… at first bc my husband is LFC fan and then a bit more cause an Estonian joined the team so gotta show some moral support XD

    You know, I can’t really wait until that elusive book of yours comes to light… I have no doubt you’ll bring the big guns! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hehe thank you!! I’m so glad you think so!! Definitely 😀 It was so fun to do!!

      hahaha well- in the end we got that surprise win, so I’m happy (although getting beaten 10-2 on aggregate to Bayern really sucked) haha well I’m not supposed to say this in front of most footie fans, but I have a real soft spot for LFC and consider them my second team, cos half my family is from Liverpool 😀 Also Klopp is awesome!

      Hehe aww that’s so sweet of you!! Thank you so much 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Marie says:

    Lovely post! ❤ I LOVE Mulan and Anastasia just as well so, so much! ❤ Also, best of luck on your book – and you're so right, it feels so good when everything just comes together naturally at the end of writing, I LOVE that feeling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    Slumps are seriously the worst! :/ I just got out of the biggest reading slump that I have EVER been in. I’m beyond happy about that. Hope you get out of yours soon as well! 😀
    I love Mulan and Anastasia, those two are some of my all time favourite animated movies! Also, the “We are Siamese if you please” song (or whatever it’s called) was stuck in my head today, my best friend sent it to me for some reason! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I know right!! They suck :/ I think I’m mostly over the reading slump (*touch wood*), which is good. But it’s still difficult to get on the blog. Thank you!! 😀
      Ahh I’m glad!!! hahahaha that’s such a funny coincidence lol!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer says:

    I have hit a bit of a slump… is it because June started and my mother nth has now been reset? I don’t know but I feel your pain! If you drew your header image then I’d say your drawing is definitely under the unusually talented category! And I love writing too! I have a squirreled away book too…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Christy Luis says:

    I’m so excited to hear that you’re a writer! I am too (and a littler, er, shy about it as well. Until further notice lol). Do you have a genre picked out? Also, my high school band played the score of The Prince of Egypt 👌 Good choice on the band director’s part because it’s amazing. And Mulan is my favorite Disney movie!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    Love your answers! Definitely learned a bit more about you through this. Best part will have to be the fact that you watched Goodfellas ❤ ❤ ❤ I LOVED that movie! And.. the first thing that popped into your head had me laughing hahahah I would've probably just repeated the last 4 words. My mind probably has an integrated echo effect or something.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    OMG the Siamese cats freaked me out every time I watched Lady and The Tramp when I was younger! I think they still do a little bit XD
    Anastasia and Mulan are two of my favorite characters as well, and Prince of Egypt makes me cry every time, no fail.
    I just watched Goodfellas for the first time the other day (the shame!!) and have to say it was wonderful. In a very non-wonderful way because, well, it’s not a wonderful tale XD
    Great tag! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hehehe I totally get that!! They were creepy!! 😉
      Ahh awesome!! Ah yes- that movie’s phenomenal!!
      haha I know, I’m the same- it took me ages to get round to watching it- and then, like all movies of its calibre, I wondered why on earth I hadn’t watched it sooner!! hahaha yes- I agree with you there!!!
      Thank you 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    I’m totally on board with Wayward Son – every time I finish another season of Supernatural I get that stuck in my head 🙂 Anastasia is also one of my favourite Disney films, but believe it or not, I’ve never seen Prince of Egypt… so I will have to change that!

    I also love the all-the-plot-strings-are-coming-together feeling you described – that is definitely one of the best feelings when writing!! (closely followed by that feeling of writing a scene/idea into a story that feels like it’s coming out of nowhere and is only taking shape as you write it, and yet finding it fits perfectly as if it was always meant to be there, even though you never planned it. That always feels a little bit like magic!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I know right!!! Every. Single. Time. 😉 oh gosh yes- it’s got Ralph Fiennes singing in it- I’d recommend it for that alone 😉
      YES!!! Oh definitely!! I also love that moment- especially when a character decides to do something I didn’t expect and I’m thinking “oh so this is happening now…” (I know some writers think you should have total control of your characters, but I find the more lifelike they get, the less they seem to care what I want for them- as long as it doesn’t destroy the basic plot, I’m ok with them going a little off the rails 😉 ) I definitely agree with you!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy says:

        Oh I didn’t know that about Ralph Fiennes! Now I want to see it even more 😀
        And I totally agree – the more lifelike characters get, the less ‘control’ you feel you have over them!! I think that’s a sign they’ve become more fleshed-out, distinct personalities (or really, that you’ve come to know them better and more intrinsically) and are helping to drive the plot, rather than only being pawns in it. So as long as they don’t go too far off the rails, I’m also all for letting them roam a little 😉

        Like

  18. Zezee says:

    Oh I love Mulan! It’s my fav Disney movie. It trumped Lady & the Tramp, which was my fav before Mulan.
    Another Arsenal fan. I don’t watch football, but EVERYONE I know is an Arsenal fan. EVERYONE.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Oh I know right!! If I had to pick a favourite (and please don’t make me!!) it would probably be Mulan…. (but seriously, don’t make me!! It’s like choosing between my babies :p ) Ooh I also love Lady and the Tramp- I just happened to rewatch it!!
      hahahahaha and so they should be 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

