Mid-Year Reading Report

Welcome, welcome, I’m sure you’re all as fed up with politics as I am, soooo I decided to politicise my blog today and give you my reading “coverage” for this first half of the year.

Since January, I’ve read a lot of books and I was looking forward to a landslide victory with regards to my tbr, but recently my campaign went a little sour and I’ve been hit by a terribly unsupportive slump… Hopefully I’ll be able to make up the votes (*ahem* books) in the latter part of the year, but we’ll see.

Now time for some helpful graphics so you know what I’m talking about 😉 :

bbc books read so far this year

So far so good- on the surface this looks pretty promising- let’s just not dig too deep or we might unearth some scandalous periods when I read absolutely nothing….

ratings

I’m not overly generous with ratings, so I’m pretty damn pleased this shows that I mostly picked up books I actually liked. One would hope I would continue this trend- but one can’t always trust the polls now, can we?

by genre

Annnnd I’ve clearly gone overboard with the fantasy- let’s see if I can have some more “balanced” coverage in the next part of the year… even if I am typically biased when it comes to my reading habits 😉 Never mind, I can always pretend otherwise!

So that’s it for now! Yes, I am being shifty about things like number of books reviewed, or books per month… but one can’t expect me to be entirely transparent! And please don’t ask me for facts & figures in the comments- there’s no way *anyone* can be expected to know those pesky little details!

60 thoughts on “Mid-Year Reading Report

  1. Marie says:

    I love this post so much – I wish I had the patience to do something like that myself ahah, it’s so great to see what you’ve been reading so far this year. Also, yay with all of the fantasy! I think if I did this myself there would be waaay too many contemporaries haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna says:

    I’m really glad you’ve discovered so many new good books this year. Also, I’m super impressed by how many books you’ve managed to read this year. I don’t think I’ve managed even half as many!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dragonsandzombies says:

    Wow, that’s a lot! And I am happy to see lots of Fantasy novels there 😀

    …..Okay, the real reason, I was coming over here, is to tell you that I am HEARTBROKEN!
    YOUR team signed MY team’s best player, Sead Kolasinac! And they didn’t even have to pay because it’s the end of his contract! I am very sad to see him go, as he was one of the few who never stopped fighting last season. And we finished really bad with no highlights whatsoever. I think he even made it into the Bundesliga’s Team of the Year. You’ll hopefully have lots of fun with him, please treat him well hahaha 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hhehe thank you!!! Yeah it’s a lot for me too!! Not sure what’s been going on!!

      haha is it weird that I want to apologise for that? Maybe it’s me being totally British, or maybe it’s just cos I miss the good ol’ days of club players (gosh that makes me sound so old, but I swear this was still a thing in the 90s) If it’s any consolation, and I’m really not sure it is, but our teams about to be gutted- I think it’s looking like 5 of our first team at the moment :/ hehehe but I will make sure to cheer on Kolasinac for sure!! After all, with our team looking ridiculously thin on the ground, he’s gonna need all the support he can get!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • dragonsandzombies says:

        Looking at it now… I am sure he’s still having a better time in London than at Schalke. We just fired our couch again and got a no-name from the second league with almost no experience.. And the past told us that this’ll never work out haha. Also, all of our good young players don’t want to renew their contracts -.-

        Yah, I miss the days of loyal club players 😀 After Manuel Neuer went to Munich the football fan in me died a little 😦

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          Oh dear :/ That’s rubbish. None of our top players want to renew their contracts either. :/ And we have a manager with no desire to change anything… so we can look forward to the same lacklustre performances as last year and the year before :/
          Yes- tell me about it!! I still remember that one of the first ones was Ashley Cole going to Chelsea, even though Arsenal was his childhood club and he’d been through the youth team.

          Liked by 1 person

          • dragonsandzombies says:

            Ashley Cole! I remember him, I always got him on ‘Football Manager’ 😀 Not sure, which year’s version, probably around 2003 😀

            Well, let’s hope next season will not be as bad for both of us as we fear…. I mean we already have low expectations, it can only get better, right? RIGHT?!

            I will definitely keep an eye on Arsenal and see what Kola is doing 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    That’s incredible that you’ve already read 108 books!! If I read that many in a whole year I’d be thrilled… though I know you have a bigger goal in mind so I hope you can get out of that slump and still achieve it.

    Oh, and you might have a bit of a genre bias, but it’s a bias in a direction I can 100% identify with, so you’ll still get my vote 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    I love your stats! This is a super cool post. How do you track your reading? Was it easy to make these graphs based on that? It would be so much manual work for me based on my current tracking system.

    Also: HOW DID YOU READ SO MUCH?! And what book thus far as been your favorite?

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you so much!! Usually I just use GR- but for this post, I exported it to excel to make the charts hehe- it wasn’t as time consuming as I thought it would be, but still not something I’d want to do regularly 😉
      hehehehe oh gosh that’s such a hard question!! I think maybe Fahrenheit 451, though I read an *amazing* thriller called Ice Twins last week as well. And I started Mark Lawrence this year which I’m really enjoying. But yeah- hard question!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

