Splintered Thoughts

splinteredI’m fussy about my retellings, but I somewhat enjoyed this one. My main reason for enjoying it was because it was really beautifully written. And- let’s be honest- because I’m a massive fan of Alice in Wonderland and I like kooky concepts- so this was pretty much up my alley.

However I did not go mad mad mad as March hares for this book. In fact, in all honesty, it made me a tad confused. I couldn’t quite put my finger on why (and I don’t want to totally take it out on the book cos I was ill while reading it) but one of the reasons I found it so strange was that the setting was weird. I had to check if it was supposed to be in London (it wasn’t) and I also got a little befuddled by the opening because it kept flashing back and forth in time.

I did quite like the twist towards the end, but the rest of the plot hinged on a romance I just was not invested in. I couldn’t stomach the cheating-but-not-really-cheating going on in the background (“it’s okay cos the significant other is a bitch and *surprise* we broke up a week ago, but you didn’t know that, so in your mind you were cheating”- you know all that morally grey goodness). And worst of all- there was a LOVE TRIANGLE- gah!

And in terms of characters… not a huge amount to report. Like I said, I wasn’t really invested in them. And, naturally, the author resorted to having someone tell the heroine she was sweet over and over again- which as you can see from the relationship mess wasn’t a justified assessment of her *at all*. She was a lot of things, but I never saw any evidence of sweetness.

So not as original as I would have liked, but still a decent enough read. Take this one with a pinch of salt (or a strong dose of alcohol like I did). As for whether I will read the next one…. Well maybe if it falls into my lap, but I can’t see myself intentionally going down that rabbit hole.

Rating 3/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

So I clearly have pretty lukewarm thoughts about this book- have you read any “meh” books lately? Have you read this? Let me know in the comments below!

44 thoughts on “Splintered Thoughts

  1. Nel says:

    Haha. I read this series. A friend begged me to. I was impressed with the first book either. I went to check my Goodreads and I rated the first 3 as 4′ and the last one as a 3. So you’ve rated them better than me! I think a lot of it came from appeasing a friend but it’s definitely not on my list of series I’ll be rereading. I like Alice in Wonderland but this spin on it wasn’t great.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    OMG I AM SO GLAD I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO ISN’T IN LOVE WITH THIS SERIES. I usually quite like Alice-related things, so I ordered the entire series in one go … #regrets. I don’t hate them, but I just feel really meh about them and to this day haven’t read the last book.
    I kinda like Morpheus, but .. there’s no real connection to the characters there for me either.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lois says:

    Ugh love triangles! Whyyyyyy put us through them. There’s no need for them. I can’t say I was ever drawn to this book cause I’m picky about my retellings but I’m sorry to hear it wasn’t as great as it could have been.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie says:

    Great review, I’m so, so happy you kind of felt the same way about this than I did. I didn’t love it as much as sooo many people did. I really like Alice’s story and thought that one could be very promising, but didn’t really manage to get into the story. I was confused by the setting just as well and didn’t really feel invested in the characters either :/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Books, Vertigo and Tea says:

    Well I have this on my shelf at the moment (also a big sucker for all things Wonderland). I have not lost all hope with this review, but can certainly see how I might encounter some issues. Perhaps your insight will actually help me enjoy it more as I will no go in with lowered expectations 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. everydaystrangeblog says:

    I stopped reading the last two books that I downloaded because I just lost interest. So meh I can’t even remember the titles. Luckily the used bookstore I shop at on my lunch break had the next three Black Butler books I needed!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    I read this book a while back and wasn’t a huge fan of it. I didn’t hate it or anything, I just felt pretty indifferent. Like it had its moments of brilliant writing and wonderfully twisted imagery, and then it would go completely down hill. I I stopped after the second book, the characters just didn’t keep me invested. A lot of people say that book 2 is better, but I don’t know if I recommend. I hope you like it more than I did if you read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. LizScanlon says:

    Ha… never realised this was a retelling.. I believe I added it to my TBR some while ago based on the cover(s) alone… anyway.. I’m trying to cut back on my drinking so I’ll probably remove this from the TBR! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Zoe says:

    YES. I completely agree. This was a really unique and original book, but there was just something…missing from it? Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    Love all those Alice references you integrated throughout the review hahaha Interesting how the writing style is what truly saves this book. I mean… the romance sounds meh and would’ve probably killed it for so many people! 😛 Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

