Gemina was a real Gem!

geminaOh gosh I love these books so much!

It took much less time to get into this one- even though the opening was technically less dramatic, it had a much faster pace. The drawings were a nice addition here and I found myself falling in love with the characters so much more quickly.

The characters had such huge personalities that they leapt off the page. I absolutely adored Nik straightaway and his backstory made him even more sympathetic. Cerberus was a pretty decent villain- though I can’t say it compared to AIDAN (my baby!). Speaking of which, his return with his wonderful “oh captain my captain” lines, was very welcome!

I loved the concept for this one. Although I’m beginning to sense not new in terms of sci fi books, I didn’t care, because it’s all new to me and it’s done so well. Like the previous book, I really enjoyed the philosophising- especially the message to make sure you don’t become a monster to beat a monster- it was nicely expressed.

The plot was surreal, but oh so clever. The ending literally made me go “fuck yeah!” This is the kind of book you *need* to read at 2 in the morning when everyone has gone to bed. Cos this is the B-O-M-B and it will make your mind explode with excitement!! I did have one *spoilery* issue in that the conclusion to the whole parallel universe thing was a little obvious- especially since the whole “my bf/gf has died” plot point was recycled from the first book and just multiplied by two- so I had to give a slight deduction for that.

But overall, it was bloody marvellous. The only truly awful thing about this book is having to wait so long for the next one!!! WHY???

Rating 4½/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahalf-a-hand-drawn-banana

So have you read this series yet? Do you plan to? Let me know in the comments below!

51 thoughts on “Gemina was a real Gem!

  1. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    I’m so excited to read this book! I’ve had it since it’s release and even got it signed. It’s just been sitting on my shelf the whole time. I keep being afraid to read it due to the new perspective and new characters being at the forefront. I don’t know how I feel about that but hopefully I read it soon and hopefully I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    I only read Illuminae, but I definitely plan on completing this series. This duo writers sure know what they’re doing with their sci-fi ideas. 😀 Definitely looking forward to reading this one after this wonderful review. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie says:

    I’m so happy you enjoyed this book! I liked it just as well even if this genre isn’t my favorite – I was surprised by how much I liked this one. It got me hooked from page one. I can’t wait to see what happens next 🙂 Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lois says:

    It’s been about a year and I’ve still not read this book yet. Shame on me. It’s one of those books where I have to be in the right mood to read it and hopefully it’ll be soon cause it sounds EPIC!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LizScanlon says:

    This is a series I’ve fallen off the bandwagon with.. I haven’t tried Illuminae yet. But it’s certainly encouraging that you’re enjoying these ones because that means there’s a cance I will, too.
    I’ve been on the fence, you see… not sure whether to take the plunge or not… and now that I found out there’ll be more… I might just wait until the series is out and then do a marathon! 🙂 That is if the books are a hit with me of course 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Emily | Rose Read says:

    I absolutely agree that the parallel universe thing was predictable/tiresome. I also really don’t like the “love” stories in these books. But I think I gave both 4/5 stars cause the plots and structures are just so darn awesome. Nice review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

