The ‘How I Choose My Books’ Tag

Hello all! So I’ve been having a super chill weekend and thought it’s been *ages* since I’ve done a tag. And this one just spoke to me (well- yelled “how could you neglect me for so long!!”) Thank you so much to the *awesome* Bookish Underdog for tagging me to do this one!

  1. Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a blue cover. What made you want to pick up this book?

JoanneHarris_Chocolat

My mum read it and recommended it to me- it was a tantalising read!!

  1. Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

boyfriend list

Totally random, I just picked it up in the library, and ended up really liking it, though I could never put my finger on why. Incidentally, I gave it to my sister after, and she had the same experience- we ended up chatting about it so much that we came up with “what would happen next” scenarios (kids nowadays would call that fanfic 😉 ). I say awesome- what I mean is “totally unrelated, random and overdramatic”.

  1. Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. (As I’m lazy, I used the random option on Goodreads instead.) How did you discover this book?

summer I turned pretty

I chose it simply cos I liked Jenny Han’s other books and wanted more.

  1. Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

A Little Princess

I loved it!! Tbh- what’s not to love?!

  1. Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

seven realms.png

Ooh this is an exciting one to answer- I picked up the Demon King because I saw how many youtubers loved the series- and boy was I not disappointed. As for books I picked up from blogging- there are too many to list here!

  1. Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a one-word title. What drew you to this book?

Neverwhere

I was drawn to it by the awesomeness that is Gaiman (and the recommendation of a friend *and* an awesome radio version)

  1. What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

Loads of books! A lot of my main answers are the *exact* same as Bookish Underdog

  • Gone Girl – I didn’t actually know it was a book till I saw the film
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower– ditto
  • The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins – fortunately I found out it was a book just prior the movies coming out so I had a chance to read them beforehand.
  1. Think of your all-time favourite book/s. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

The Hobbit – ooh I don’t think I ever mentioned how I came to this book. I might even shock some of you. So I came to this after watching the movie- I think it came out in 2001, but I watched it on VHS a year later, so I was about 10. Anyway, I hadn’t read any of the books before and desperately wanted to after the film. Luckily a relative stepped in and gave me an old copy of the Hobbit. Annnd there’s more to this story, but I’ll probably tell you another time.

Peter Pan – I don’t think there was a time when I wasn’t in love with this story.

The Idiot – pure fluke! I actually had wanted to read Dostoevsky’s more famous books- Crime and Punishment or Brothers Karamazov- but this was all my school library had. And do you know what? I am so glad it was this book, because this book changed my life.

Man’s Search For MeaningMy brother recommended this one

Emmaanother fun story. I actually read Pride and Prejudice first and didn’t like it much. But then disaster struck… I was set it for my A Levels! I realised I had to find another way into Austen, so I thought I would familiarise myself with her other work, and tried Emma. I ended up falling in love with it- and do you know what? When I went back to read Pride and Prejudice again, I loved that too!! (It’s actually one of the only books that improved with a reread).

I TAG:

Rivermoose reads, Untamed Shrews, Pooja, Not So Modern Girl, Never Not Reading, Zuky @Book Bum, Angelica @ Book Cover Girls, Stephanie’s Novel Fiction, Maxxesbooktopia, Melting Pots and Other Calamities, Twin Bookmarks and Sophie

That was a bit like *storytime* at the end there- do you have any fun stories about falling in love with your favourite books? Let me know in the comments!

 

81 thoughts on “The ‘How I Choose My Books’ Tag

  1. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    Thanks so much for the tag!! Lovely answers! I think that I might need to give Austen another chance. I read Pride and Prejudice in high school and was not a fan of it at all. Maybe I should give Emma a chance, see what happens. Same with Dostoevsky. I read The Brothers Karamazov and I almost died while reading it. It didn’t help that it was for a class and I had to write a 10 page essay on it. Maybe I should read his other works. Who knows, they might become my new favorite authors!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    I adore A Little Princess! Book and movie. I would say that’s probably one of my favorite movies of all time which says a lot consider book to movie adaptations are sometimes bad, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kawther (TheVillainLibrary) says:

    Great tag, I liked your answers because you introduced me to many books that I never heard of before .

    The way I found my favorite book was by complete accident , I was on goodreads and stumbled across a random book and added it to my TBR for no reason (I was new to GR so I added books randomly) , after a couple of years I bought the book after coming across it and recognizing it , and completely fell in love with it . it does seem like a pretty random story (I keep using the word random) but I’m so happy that I found that book because it’s so dear to my heart and I loved every little detail about it

    Like

  4. Geronimo Reads says:

    This looks like so much fun!! I remember reading The Boyfriend List in high school ages ago and really enjoying it! I’m absolutely in love with Peter Pan as well. I know I wasn’t tagged, but I may be doing this anyway 😉 lol

    Like

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Thank you! It really was fun!! Ah I get that- it’s not the best book in the world, but I was strangely attached to it. And Peter Pan is amazing!! You should!! sorry it took so long to reply, this got put into my spam :/

      Like

  5. Bookstooge says:

    This was fun to read. I think I’m going to set this one aside for a rainy day.

    As for the Hobbit, WHICH movie are you talking about? The live action version by Peter Jackson [which came out from ’12-14] or the animated Ralph Bakshi version from ’77?
    If there is another version I’d love to find out about it…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. littlebookynook says:

    There are quite a few books here that I haven’t read yet, I will have to add these to my TBR list! I really liked The Hobbit (book)…the movies…not so much. I felt they were waaay to drawn out. And then there were characters (Legolas) added just for the sake of it. I guess they added so much more to the story because the book itself really isn’t that big. Such a shame because I love the LOTR movies! I love Emma, but Pride and Prejudice is one of my favourites! I recently watched the tv version with Colin Firth in it…sooooooo good!!! I highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it yet. Awesome post, I will probably do this one in the future!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ah awesome!! Oh gosh snap!! I couldn’t stand the (unnecessary) changes they made like Legolas (and the white orc- what was up with that?!) Yes I agree so much!!! I love the LOTR movies so much too!!! 😀 Ah well now I love Pride and Prejudice, but I still owe Emma for that! Ahhhh I love that version *so* much!!! I’ve watched it so many times and made my mum and sister watch it too (I feel validated by the fact that they loved it too) Brilliant!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • littlebookynook says:

        Ahaha yeah the white orc, like, what the!! So many things they did would have made soooo many of the book readers go “BUT THAT WASN’T IN THE BOOK!!!”. Ohhhh yaaay I’m glad you love that version of Pride and Prejudice, isn’t Colin Firth just the BEST Mr Darcy!! He really is the sweetest character ever, he just doesn’t come across like that. Now I want to watch it again!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Never Not Reading says:

    I discovered Tolkien because The Hobbit was actually required reading for me in 6th grade! Needless to say I loved it, and attempted to embark upon Fellowship of the Ring that same year. Well. 11 year-old me was NOT ready for LOTR. I lost interest and set it down. But a couple of years later when 13 year-old me got the rest of the LOTR books for Christmas, I decided to start over. The rest is history.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. LizScanlon says:

    The cover of Chocolat is weirdly attracting.. it’s the blue that just looks so lovely.. and I want chocie now… *starts rummaging through drawers at work… YES! Biscuits! Choc chip!!!*

    This is a great tag and definitely reminded me of some books that I have been wanting to read for some while now… Dostoyevski and Hobbit… I know.. I haven’t ever read The Hobbit yet! How sad am I?! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Marie says:

    Lovely answers! I also love all of these little stories, especially the one about The Hobbit – I want an essay about everything you felt while reading this favorite of yours ahah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Stephanie says:

    Thank you for the tag! I just realized you tagged me! I’m so sorry. I’m on hiatus from my blog this week and only around commenting and such, so I missed it! But this looks like a lot of fun, so I will get to it as soon as I can! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

