7 for 7 – July Mini Reviews

Admittedly I’m not prepared to admit it is July- to be honest I think I’d rather stick my fingers in my ears and go “lalalala”- but the world is not listening, time is marching on whether I like it or not and the summer weather is trying to bake me alive…

Sooo it’s time for my monthly mini reviews!

lovely bones

Lovely Bones– I was left with pretty mixed feelings for this. It was absolutely awful to see what happens to the family that’s left behind after a loved one passes- especially in such horrible circumstances- and that definitely made me teary eyed. However, I did find it a little too weird and I found the totally clueless police irksome. I mean, creepy murderer guy is *CREEPY*!!

Rating: 2½/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahalf-a-hand-drawn-banana

12 years a slave

Twelve Years a Slave– I did not realise the full impact of the book until I reached the end- I was just so wrapped in it that I didn’t notice time passing. The sheer, intolerable injustice of it really got to me. I can’t say anything other than how disgusting it was that human beings could be treated like this. And, as much as we may all be aware of this period of history, it can never cease to be shocking.

Rating: 5/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

winner's kiss

Winner’s Kiss– okay, so my main issue with this is that I lost interest by the time I got to this book… which was a real shame, because I enjoyed the first two and there were parts of this where I remembered why I’d originally liked this series. However one of the characters got amnesia and that gutted a lot of my enjoyment. Not only did it reset the romance, but it gave said-character a personality transplant and made them a lesser version of themselves (for a totally illogical and unbelievable reason).

Rating: 2½/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahalf-a-hand-drawn-banana

through the woods

Through The Woods– what an exquisite, creepy read!! Even after I closed the book, I was left with that tingly fear that the monsters might escape the pages and EAT ME!! Okay, I may be a tad melodramatic, but I am very easily spooked, and this was one hell of a graphic novel. What really made this book magnificent for me was that it’s like reading art- I don’t think there’s any other way to describe it. The aesthetic element was just so stunning and perfectly balanced with the beautiful snippy language. The drama created when that was combined with the way it was structured and that building intensity was just perfect. I also loved how it felt reminiscent of both fairy tales and retellings like Carter, whilst still feeling totally unique.

Rating: 5/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

jerusalem the golden

Jerusalem the Golden– There’s this type of book from the 60s that’s all “boo hoo I’m not properly middle or upper class, even though I’m super educated”. I will come right out and say that I just don’t relate to that sort of thing at all- maybe because their problems feel so “first world” to me. Either way, I felt like this was trying to say something profound so many times (about class, motherhood, etc) and failing. To be honest the serviceable language and decent-ish characters were not enough to save this for me and it failed to hold my interest. I don’t get why this is considered a modern classic- it’s a pretty mediocre read.

Rating: 2½/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahalf-a-hand-drawn-banana

jamaica inn

Jamaica Inn– it’s been a very long time since I read Du Maurier- and wow was this a treat. Like so many of her other books, it was compelling, atmospheric and beautifully written. The only reason it didn’t knock my socks off was that, as gripping as it was, I didn’t get the motivations for a lot of the characters. There was a grotesque aspect to them that never really translated into anything believable or dove head first into the uncanny- it was something in between- and I couldn’t quite settle into the book because of that.

Rating: 4/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

percy jackson lightning thief

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)– gosh I missed out on this when I was younger, that’s for sure. It was so inventive and accurate at the same time. And I will say, without going into why, I’ve always had a soft spot for Hades and I loved Riordan’s take on him. I did find that the false ending bothered me as an adult reader, because it felt latched onto the end for the sake of sequels. I’d have preferred if the promised betrayal could have been incorporated into the final showdown. But even if this was imperfect, I still had a lot of fun with this book and plan to continue the series at some point! So Percy Jackson for the win!

Rating: 4/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

Okay, so that was a totally mixed bag! Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

37 thoughts on “7 for 7 – July Mini Reviews

  1. daleydowning says:

    To this day, I have not read a single Percy Jackson (or related) book. Now I think I’m too old to enjoy them properly, since the target audience is 15 y/o boys.

    I couldn’t stand The Lovely Bones — the way the author made it out to be “oh, the poor girl, she’s better off in the afterlife” and “the cops are idiots so the universe will have to step in and kill off this guy or justice will never be served” — COME ON!!! It was so hard to believe, or to get on board with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nel says:

    I agree with your Lovely Bones rating and I’ve had The Winner’s Kiss on my TBR for a really long time. I don’t think I want to read it now, haha. I don’t have it in me to read or watch 12 Years a Slave. Roots was enough for me, sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ah I’m glad you agree!! haha yeahhh it wasn’t so good- which was disappointing- but I think the main issue is that I left it too long to read it and it went totally stale for me :/ Ah I understand- I have books that hit too close to home too :/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I’m glad to see that you loved Through the Woods! That graphic novel is simply wonderful, beautiful and eerie – which is a great combination.
    I haven’t read anything by Daphne Du Maurier yet. It’s a shame on me, especially since I have heard so many amazing things about her books and they sound like something that I would enjoy a lot. And I do love reading gothic classics, so I honestly have no idea why I haven’t picked it up yet.
    Great reviews! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Angleton says:

    We love Rick Riordan at our house, possibly because I have two boys who are the perfect ages for him, but my husband and I enjoy the books, too. I find Percy pretty charming. I don’t remember the ending, just the series as a whole. They are pretty formulaic, but definitely fun. And the next series, Heroes of Olympus is even better I think. His newest series (Magnus Chase and Trials of Apollo) are so far a little underwhelming, though my boys still love them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eve Messenger says:

    What an outstanding variety of books you read this month, including a couple of super sad ones (Lovely Bones and 12 Years a Slave). I haven’t read anything by Daphne Du Maurier yet, but I want to! Would Rebecca be a good one to start with? Haha, I can relate to being easily spooked. After reading a book like Into the Woods I’d be walking around with my back up against the wall for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Marie says:

    Wait, amnesia what?!! Damn it. I have read the first two books in the winner’s trilogy and I’ll be getting the third one, but probably not in a while. If I liked the series, it’s not high on my priority list for now. I’m hoping I’ll enjoy that last one a bit better than you then, sorry to hear you didn’t so much :/
    Through the woods sounds SO COOL – I so want to read that now. Thank you for the lovely reviews! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hehe yeah- I was trying not give spoilers- but that happens pretty early on. It didn’t work for me. Yeah I was the same. Hopefully you’ll enjoy it more! It just went a bit stale for me cos I left it too long between books :/ It is amazing!! Thank you so much for reading 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Oh I loved The Kiss of Deception! But I agree, I would have enjoyed it even more if it weren’t for that detail and some other ones which I honestly don’t remember right now… It’s been a while xD
    Great list, though! Love seeing Percy Jackson in here too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kat Impossible says:

    I love how there was a pattern to your rating in the beginning. Like it was, 2.5 and 5, 2.5 and 5 bananas hahaha
    I am a little sad Lovely Bones didn’t get a better rating, but I guess I do understand where you are coming from. I love these mini reviews, because sometimes that’s more than enough you say about a book 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    I’m going to have to try The Lightning Thief as a grown-up as well hahah Hopefully my love for mythologies will make me appreciate it a lot! 😀 I didn’t know Twelve Years a Slave was a book, but it totally makes sense. Would totally love to check it out after your mini review hahah The movie was GOLD!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      haha yeah I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it, even as an adult! 😀 Hope you do too! Yeah I heard it was a book shortly after the movie came out and decided I wanted to put off seeing the movie till I’d read it. I’m glad I did that, even if it did take a while to psych myself into it. I’m glad the movie was so good!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Holly B / Dressedtoread says:

    I also lost interest when I got to The Winners Kiss! I read the first two and enjoyed them, but never even read this one! Totally lost interest!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Charlotte says:

    I completely agree with The Lovely Bones! I liked the movie so picked up the book when I was maybe 14 or so, and couldn’t finish it! I can’t remember why but there was something about it I didn’t like.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Amanda @Cover2CoverMom says:

    I honestly thought I was the only human alive who didn’t LOVE The Lovely Bones… I thought it was an amazing concept but poorly executed. There was one specific point in the book where I was scratching my head and wondering why the author would throw this particular part in the book…. it was unnecessary and weird… I was so disappointed with it 😦

    12 Years A Slave has been on my TBR for a LONG time but it also intimidates me a little bit. I know it is going to shake me to the core, but I also know I NEED to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ah yes I agree!! I definitely felt disappointed with it too.
      It was intimidating, but it ended up being a phenomenal read- I hope that you like it when you get to it (although “like” might be the wrong word)

      Like

Leave a Reply

