The disingenuous fantasy blurb

Alrighty then- it’s Sunday! The end of another week! And last week we learnt two things… 1) I like fantasy (okay we already knew that) and 2) I can be a bit lousy about keeping up with my blog (okay we knew that too, so really we learnt nothing). This post was consequently inspired by this simple equation:

Fantasy + Lousiness = Lousy fantasy

So without further ado here is my disingenuous fantasy blurb:

Read this book- I swear there will be dragons in it. The title is vaguely dragon related after all (what did we name this in the end? Fire-flaming-dragon-wings or something…?)

smaug

Also magic- expect magic- and lots of it. (Although this will mostly be in the form of staring mysteriously into fires and errr no one having actual powers… but still…)

Plus we put TOLKIEN on the blurb just now… so now you have to read it to be considered a proper fantasy fan

Nah nah nah nah nah.png

We’ve also made this a juicy *thousand pages*- 99% of which will consist of infodumps- so yay!!

And have I mentioned that there will be DRAGONS!!

mushu

*Warning: will not contain actual dragons, just lizard people*

*Also, second disclaimer: don’t read if lots of walking gives you brain blisters*

Okay, hope you enjoyed that! Now I’m gonna try and do some blog hopping… wish me luck!

ttfn2.png

37 thoughts on “The disingenuous fantasy blurb

  1. Science time says:

    Hi!
    Nice post! I’m making posts about scientific explanations behinde everyday appearance and recently I’ve made post about sleep so if you have time and will please go and check it out! If you like it please follow me, I follow you.
    Thank you! 😀

    Like

  2. Shanti says:

    This was pretty funny. I have read *too many* fantasy books that feel like they need to stick to the tropes. But you know, they’re good tropes. You just need more than cliches to form a story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Hahaha! As always, this is super entertaining. Have you ever read Diana Wynne Jones’s The Tough Guide to Fantasyland? I feel like you’d really appreciate it. It’s written in the style of a travel guide, but about a generic fantasyland where all the troupes exist. I adore it. It’s a great way to laugh at troupes and provide inspiration for some writers to avoid classic mistakes. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

