Ice Twins Gave Me the Chills

ice twinsWoweeee! This book was like dumping a bucket of ice water on my head. And before I can get into why this book was so awesome, I have to say a massive thank you to Meggy over at Chocolatenwaffles Blog because it was her *incredible* review that made me pick this up in the first place!! (And if you don’t know who Meggy is… where have you been? I swear when you go over there your TBR will grow exponentially, but it’ll be so worth it, cos all her recs are amazing!!)

In case it isn’t obvious, I loved this book. It had all the ingredients for a great thriller. An utterly chilling premise, unsettling narration and characters you couldn’t quite straighten out. Slowly, slowly it built up the doubt and the mystery. Then everything began to unravel. Ninety percent of my notes were expletive-laden questions, so intense and dark was the plot. I doubted everything; I questioned everything. Nothing was straight forward- and that’s just how I like books like this… But man, every second of this book was beautiful torture. I wanted to read on, I needed to read on, but I dreaded finding out what was happening.

One of the best things about this was the atmosphere. The tone was set off perfectly by the glorious backdrop of the Scottish Isles- taken away from civilisation and plunged into the wilderness where the uncanny dug its claws in…  Even now I’m thinking about it and that disquieting feeling is creeping up on me. I was frozen in place. Because as the house crumbled around them and the island reclaimed itself, I felt as if I was being taken over by this unnerving book.

I barely was able to catch my breath the entire time I was reading this. That was largely down to the exquisite writing. It was so beautifully written that my kindle looked like a rainbow of highlights by the end. But I regret nothing- because virtually every single line was quotable!

This book completely blew my mind and is easily one of the best books I’ve read all year!

Rating: 5/5 bananas

 hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

Have you read this? Will you be checking it out? Let me know in the comments!

36 thoughts on “Ice Twins Gave Me the Chills

  1. Matthew Wright says:

    Aiyeeee! You keep finding great books – I am going to end up with a ‘to read’ stack even larger than the mountainous one I have now… 🙂 This one looks excellent, and I am sucker for anything that is well-styled.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    Wow! Meggy sure did convince me on adding this to my TBR and assured me that it would be a totally memorable experience.. but this review just reminded me of all its awesomeness and made me feel ashamed that I still haven’t picked up a copy!!! 😛 Fantastic review!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles says:

    OMG OMG OMG OMG I FEEL SO RELIEVED NOW!!!!! I was afraid you wouldn’t like it! I can still feel the icy fingers of the story keep me close to the creepiness of it all. There’s nothing I did not love, but the atmosphere.. THE ATMOSPHERE! It’s like the fog clutches your skin, clothes, hair, it’s fabulously awful xD Thank you so much for the shout out, my favorite banana! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LizScanlon says:

    Ha, can totally agree on Meggy’s reviews… every time I read one by her, I;m like- no, no,no… just nooo… 😀 because my tbr pile is already a mile long and she just makes me want to add! 😀
    So glad you went for it and liked to book so much- with such great blogger recs behind it, I want to have a go at this tale myself now 🙂 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. TheReadersBay says:

    OMG Ice Twins has been in my TBR for a long long time!! And I hadn’t read many reviews about it so I never gave it a try either, but I’m so glad after reading your review! Gonna check out Meggy’s review now (new here on WordPress so still figuring out lol) Check out my blog tooo and any suggestions are welcomed!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

