One Lovely Blogger Award – Musical Edition

one-lovely-blog.png

Because it’s Saturday and I’m gonna have a lazy day reading (I’d say don’t judge- but you guys aren’t gonna judge me for that 😉 ) I thought I’d do a chilled out post today. Thank you to the *lovely* blogger Amelia in Hull for nominating me to do this award!

THE RULES FOR THE ONE LOVELY BLOGGER AWARD

  1. Each nominee must THANK the person who nominated them and link their blog in the post.
  2. They must include the rules and add the blog award badge as an image.
  3. Must add 7 facts about themselves and then nominate 15 people.

Tomorrow I’ll be discussing a *controversial* opinion where more than 90% of people are bound to disagree (cos that’s the rating for this movie on Rotten Tomatoes)- so I thought it might be fun to give some musical related facts about me:

  1. I have sung in the rain- more than once 😉
  1. Cabaret *FREAKED ME OUT*- that scene with the Hitler Youth *shivers*. Also this guy…
  1. I have a soft spot for the Wizard of Oz cos it used to be one of the only three videos my grandparents owned (the other two were Donald Duck and Marx Brothers)- we used to visit them every weekend, so I pretty much know that movie by heart.
  1. My history teacher took us to see Les Miserables when we were studying that period of French history- it wasn’t entirely relevant, but it was fun!
  1. Speaking of which, I have several versions of a lot of the Les Mis songs on my Itunes- for “On My Own” I have the official soundtrack, the movie version, the anniversary edition and the French one #noshame
  1. I’ve recently started listening to Hamilton *a lot*. I shouldn’t even like it cos I’m British and we’re still butthurt about the war of independence (JK! if you believe that, you need a strong dose of British humour- I prescribe Oscar Wilde and Austen 😉 )
  1. If you asked me to pick a favourite I would laugh… and then cry. *Some* of my faves are: the aforementioned Les Mis, Wicked, Fiddler on the Roof, Oliver, Singing in the Rain, Bugsy Malone and Sound of Music (and that’s not even including Disney or the Muppets!)

My Nominees: 

Vicky, Wonderfilled Reads, Franlaniado, Kristin, Read and Rant and Rock and RollAlways Trust In Books, I’ve Read This, Roseread, Embuhlee, Pooja, Anna and Nicole

So are any of you also fond of musicals? What are your favourites? Let me know in the comments!

48 thoughts on “One Lovely Blogger Award – Musical Edition

  1. embuhlee says:

    Hey thanks for the tag, friend! 😀 For a person who tends not to like musicals, which would you recommend I pick up? I’ve seen Les Mis and Rent and uh… Moulin Rouge, the last being the only one I actually liked, hawhaw.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bookstooge says:

    Ha. I KNEW you Brits were still smoldering about that little dust up! I’d make fun of Charles and his sons, but honestly, with a Carrot in the whitehouse, we don’t have much room for laughing.

    I’m not a “musical” kind of guy, at all. Music belongs on a cd/radio/whatever, not in a movie that I’m trying to enjoy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Hahaha oh of course we are (though the majority of my ancestors weren’t even British at that point, I still have a good cry every year on the fourth of July 😂😂😂) hehehe am I the only person on the planet that thinks that’s a great reason to laugh?! I mean he provides endless comic material “believe me” 😂😂 (I’m going to hell aren’t I? Especially if North Korea gets trigger happy… Ah well may as well die laughing!) Though make all the fun you like of Charlie and co, I’m not a royalist

      Hehe fair enough! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    Thanks for the nomination!! I wouldn’t say I was a big fan of musicals, but I don’t hate them – it really comes down to the quality of the particular one I’m watching… e.g. I have loved pretty much every version of Les Miserables I’ve ever seen!

    I’m really curious to see this opinion that 90% of people are bound to disagree with 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. FranL says:

    Thank you so much the nomination!
    I LOVE musicals. For all time favorites I usually go for semi-obscure (as far as mainstream goes) stuff like The Light in the Piazza and Passion. But West Side Story is also one of my all time faves. As is most everything Rodgers and Hammerstein ever wrote. If you start taking about musicals my full geekery is on display!
    I have a special place in my heart for the Wizard of Oz. When I was really little apparently I walked around in red patent leather shoes, with a stuffed dog in a basket and made everyone call me “Dorothy”. Yeah. I told you I was a geek!

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      You’re welcome! Yay!!!
      Oh I don’t know that first one. Though of course I love West Side Story! It’s phenomenal!! And I’m pretty sure that’s my sister’s favourite too. Awww wow that’s so sweet!! Hehe don’t worry- I have more than a few geeky stories of my own 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. dragonsandzombies says:

    ‘On my Own’ is my favourite Les Miserable song as well!! But actually, I love all of the songs haha.
    ‘The Wizard of Oz’ is very precious to me as well. At least your grandparents had videos! Mine had none!! 😀 And like 3 TV channels we were not allowed to watch LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Yay!! 😀 hehehe yes my grandpa was very hip and always liked to get the latest technology 😉 He even got a DVD player later on, in his 90s, but he never figured out how to use it 😉 In fact he broke the TV and we had to fix it for him more times than I can count!! LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Ooh *high five*- you are a cool person!! hehehe yes it is! 😀 hehehe well it was the right time period at least- but it didn’t tell us anything we needed to know (that we didn’t already know- like the fact that the French kept revolting 😉 ) You’re welcome! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

