A Lot Can Happen in 180 Seconds

180 seconds

That’s the premise of this book- in 180 seconds you can fall in love, you can boil an egg, and you can read this review 😉

OMG this book was crazy good… Well I should probably say crazy, but still good. Because while the premise (social experiments don’t usually spark romances) is a little on the barmy side, it certainly appealed to the romantic in me. And gosh did it make me feel *all the feels*!

Everything in the story is moving, in one way or another. It’s easy to see how this book is all heart: heart-warming, heart-wrenching, heart-breaking. If nothing else, there’s a scene at a dog shelter which is so adorable that I defy even the crustiest of people from eliciting a very loud AWWW. And yes, I will admit I terms of plot it’s got all the clichés of a normal contemporary- and yet all these clichés are turned into something special (no spoilers but there’s even a typical airport chase scene that actually quite atypical).

The one thing I didn’t really relate to is the social media stuff, cos I’ve never been able to properly keep up with all that stuff, so that took me out of the story from time to time. But I did like the idea of it being used to do some good. However, I did appreciate how well this worked with the whole time-conscious aspect of the book…

And speaking of which, we’re probably out of time, so without further ado, my rating:

4/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

Much appreciation to the queens of contemporary recommendations for bringing this to my attention: Marie @Drizzle and Hurricanes and Deanna @A Novel Glimpse! Check out their awesome reviews!

So did you manage to read that in 180 seconds? I’m curious to know now… And will you read this? Have you read it? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

42 thoughts on “A Lot Can Happen in 180 Seconds

  1. Nel says:

    “that I defy even the crustiest of people from eliciting a very loud AWWW” Bahahaha why they gotta be crusty people? Great review! I kind of want to check it out now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bookstooge says:

    Contemporary. All my instincts are screaming to make a snarky, crusty comment. Gahhhhh!
    *inappropriate dead dog joke*

    I am very glad you enjoyed this so much. Always good when a fellow reader can really enjoy a book to the full…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. raistlin0903 says:

    I have been on a bit of book reading hiatus lately (watching way too many movies, tv shows and anime will do that to you lol), but am finally getting bsck to reading a bit. So many good books that I still have to read though, and posts like these don’t help, as my to read list just keeps on growing 😂 Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LizScanlon says:

    I’m rather sorry now I didn’t time my reading time for the review 😀
    This sounds positively hearty! 🙂 No, joking aside, I love this succinct and to the point review! Whenever I’m in the mood for contep. again I shall keep this in mind 😉
    And also.. the eggs that’s only boiled for 180 seconds… yeah, no! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hehehe you know I originally intended to time it myself and then I got lazy and went “why don’t I ask everyone else to do it” 😉
      It really was lol!! Thank you!!! hehe awesome!!! 😀 hehehe well that’s sort of true- I think it’s how long you’re meant to time it from boiling… which is not exactly the same thing is it? (also I’m always forgetting and then nearly set fire to them… 😉 )

      Like

  5. Marie says:

    Awwww this makes me so, SO happy that you ended up reading this and loving it as much as I did. It was soooo adorable at times, even if there were some clichés here and there for sure. I’m SO glad you liked it! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

