TAG: This-Is-My-Truth-Now

cropped-ryder_snow

So this tag comes with a curse- so I definitely had to give this a go. ;)So this tag comes with a curse- so I definitely had to give this a go. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you so much to James the awesome creator of this tag for tagging me- he posts *every day* (I know, ridiculously impressive!) on a whole wide range of topics, so really worth checking out!

The Rules

  1. Create your own new post and call it โ€œTag: This-Is-My-Truth-Nowโ€ and be sure to include in your tags the words โ€” without quotes โ€” โ€œThisIsMyTruthNow Tagโ€
  2. Include these rules when you copy/paste to your own post.
  3. Be sure to thank the person that tagged you and include their responses at the bottom of your post, so someone can get to know them too. Tell everyone something interesting about the person who tagged you.
  4. Include a link to my original post mentioning this blog so we can see how many people choose to play along. Link to cut/paste is: ย ThisIsMyTruthNow
  5. Choose 12 bloggers to tag and include a link to their latest post, so others can check them out and meet new people.
  6. Answer all 12 questions in The Challenge Questions section, but replace the 12th question with your own new one around telling the truth or revealing something interesting about yourself โ€” you can leave the existing if you canโ€™t think of something. (Note: I’m too lazy to change this!)
  7. Be sure to copy/paste the โ€œTruth or Dareโ€ section at the end of this post. Itโ€™s important to the challenge โ€” so you better carefully read it!
  8. If youโ€™ve havenโ€™t been tagged, but you want to play along, you can totally jump on in and post responses to the tag on your blog.

The Challenge Questions:

1. Youโ€™re on your way to a birthday dinner that your friends have thrown for you. When you arrive, your favorite author is having dinner by himself or herself and asks you to sit with them, before you even see your friends or they see you. You have two choices: (1) You can sit with the author but canโ€™t tell your friends that youโ€™ve abandoned them for three hours, or (2) Meet your friends and lose the only chance youโ€™ll ever have to talk with the author. Pick one or the other โ€” no exceptions or communication to your friends to tell them about the author โ€” and explain why.

I feel like if I chose to sit with the author, Iโ€™d be letting down my friends- plus I wouldnโ€™t be able to do anything to more than squeak at them anyway! But itโ€™s a tough one!!

2. Youโ€™ve got an opportunity to spend a few hours alone โ€œin your bedroomโ€ with a character from any book youโ€™ve previously read. The character tells you that (s)he would like to lock the door and spend some alone time with you. What book and character is it, and do you decide to enter the room and lock the door, or tell them you arenโ€™t interested?

Hahaha this is a hilarious one! May as well pick someone Iโ€™d actually like- so Iโ€™m gonna go with Baz from Carry Onโ€ฆ in which case heโ€™ll be telling me heโ€™s not interested. Bummer.

carry on

3. If you could turn any male character from one of your favorite books into a female character (or change a female into a male) in the book or book series, which one and why?

Huh- I swear Iโ€™ve never thought of anything like this before. Sounds very Stephanie Meyer to me. Then again, the second that I thought about this, I thought that if Life and Death was satire it would be really good, cos some comic role reversal would show just how bad that sh*t is.

4. What blogger currently on your followerโ€™s list (meaning they follow you too) do you admire the most and why?

bookstooge

Gah- thatโ€™s so hard to just pick one!! But since I donโ€™t want to be here all day saying how much I love each and every one of you, Iโ€™m gonna go ahead and just recommend that you guys check out Bookstooge cos he always has great (and funny) reviews and really think he deserves more attention- so off you go! ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. If you could change any one decision your favorite book character made, what would it be and why?

Umm can Tess Durbeyfield just never leave home please? Her story is just too sad!!

6. If you could pick 1 character from a book and 1 character from a TV show you watch (that is NOT based on a book) to be in a relationship together, who would you choose, and why?

Hmm Iโ€™ve been watching a lot of Poldark lately and I *hate* Elizabeth, and since Iโ€™m feeling super vengeful, Iโ€™d pair her with Voldemort.

elizabeth and voldemort.png

7. Itโ€™s your last day on Earth. As you are about to cross that final finish line, a mysterious shadow appears, giving you a choice: (1) You can go move forward to whatever comes next for you [based on your own spiritual or religious beliefs], or (2) you can become a character in a book series and exist permanently doing whatever that author chooses to do with you in the book. Which do you choose, and if itโ€™s option 2, reveal the book and author.

Hehe well I would pick Pratchett (for obvious reasons) but I donโ€™t think Iโ€™d want to do anything for eternity- not even hanging out with Death and eating bananas in the Unseen University. So I guess I’ll go to meet my maker…

Death_Discworld

8. If you could steal a pet from someone in any book youโ€™ve read, but had to replace it with a friendโ€™s pet (meaning they wouldnโ€™t ever see their pet again), would you do it? If so, explain the who and why.

Iโ€™d feel way to mean to steal a friendโ€™s pet! Iโ€™m not that heartless!! Buuut assuming I wasโ€ฆ Iโ€™d pick Pan from Northern Lights, cos you know, Iโ€™ve always wanted my own daemon.

9. If you could turn someone from your real life into a character from a book, who from your life, who in the book and why?

Another hard one! I figure Iโ€™d put one of my brothers into a Hardy so that he could tell them all to โ€œlighten up!โ€ (he says it to me often enough ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) Besides heโ€™s funny- I reckon those books could do with some comic relief.

jude

And no I didn’t pick this just to be mean… although now I do feel a little mean…

10. Post a picture of the cover of a book you read in 2000 and the book you are currently reading now. (Note: if you werenโ€™t alive in 2000, pick the first book you ever read and tell everyone what year it was from).

Currently: Assassin’s Quest-ย I just read the first and second of the Farseer trilogy- I am on a roll!

assassin's quest

2000 Read: Easy that was Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire- after all everyone knows it came out that year, and Iโ€™d caught up on all the others by then ๐Ÿ˜€

goblet of fire

11. Your favorite character (under 18) needs a place to stay for 3 months and asks you if (s)he could stay in your spare room (yes, you have one for the sake of this question). Who is it and what is the reason (s)he needs to stay with you?

Great question- cos there are an awful lot of neglected children in books! Iโ€™m gonna go with Sara Crewe cos she goes through a lot in the book and I just feel like I could prevent all that by having her come to stay.

A Little Princess

12. Which of the 365 Daily Challenge posts most describes you? To see them all, you can go here. (Note: This is the question each person can change when they tag their own nominees)

Hehe a fair number are really relatable- but I gotta pick one with Ryder

My Nominees: Howlin Books, Upside Down Books, Kat, Alanna, Paperback and Flick Chick, Fictionphile, Pooja, Valerie, Two Gals and a Book and Book Cover Girls (as usual, apologies if you’ve already done it and no pressure yada yada yada)

TRUTH OR DARE:

Oh, did I forget to tell you the last part of the ThisIsMyTruthNow tag? If you choose not to accept the tag, you have to follow through on whatever dare the person who tags you chooses โ€” for my nominees, if you choose not to do this tag, your dare is to re-read [within the next 30 days] the book that has the lowest rating of all the books youโ€™ve read in the last five (5) years. And if you donโ€™t read it again, youโ€™ll be cursed with bad book reads for the next five (5) years. HaHaHaHaHa!ย 

Okay- so phew, I did this tagโ€ฆ Over to you now!

53 thoughts on “TAG: This-Is-My-Truth-Now

  1. Nel says:

    Lmao I’m cackling at your dare hahahahaha! Only you!
    Hey if you go into that goodnight you might just meet up with the son of Satan who makes amazing chile rellenos; just throwing that out there. (Charley Davidson reference) ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Haha that was actually James’ dare, and like I said in the rules, I was too lazy to change anything ๐Ÿ˜‰ but it was a stroke of brilliance on his part!! ๐Ÿ˜œ Hahahaha that sounds hilarious, even though, gotta confess, I don’t know Charley Davidson ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nel says:

        Oh! I completely skimmed over that. Too absorbed in your answers clearly. Charley Davidson is an adult paranormal urban fantasy romance series by Darynda Jones where Charley is the grim reaper/PI and her hunky lover is Reyes the son of Satan. It’s only fitting that he’s good at cooking spicy food but it also may have to do with the fact that live in New Mexico, hahaha. It’s gonna be on my re-read series next year for my new book blog so you’ll probably know about it eventually ๐Ÿ˜›
        Lazy runs strong in us! High 5 hahahaha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Krysta says:

    I think I’d have to sit with my friends, too, but, also depending on the friends, I think they would want me to choose the author and report back?? This is a dilemma!

    Oh my gosh. I hate Elizabeth, too. And Poldark. Get your life together, man! Respect your wife! I’ve only watched season one and I don’t know if I can handle another or if I will want to throw something at the screen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha yes true… but the thing is, whenever I’ve been anywhere near someone like that, all I’ve been able to do is smile and nod ๐Ÿ˜‰ So maybe I should send someone who could actually ask a question for me ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Ahhh yes!! AGREE!! hahaha I love it- but some things about it make me mad!! To be honest, I was never keen on Elizabeth “can do no wrong” Poldark- but in the last season (3) she’s just made me hate her even more!

      Like

  3. Bookstooge says:

    I never liked Elizabeth and just couldn’t get past Poldarks obsession with her. I mean, he had a smexy redhead who wanted him! So I gave up on the tv show part way through season 1 and the books after book 2.

    And that Bookstooge fella, my goodness, he’s got quite the handsome avatar. Thanks for the shout out ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kirstie Ellen says:

    Haha omg this is fantastic, I can’t wait to do it ๐Ÿ˜‚if I didn’t accept this challenge I’m pretty sure I’d be rereading either Death of a Salesman or The Lost Honour of Katherina Blum – AND I AINT DOING THAT. So I’m definitely going to get answering!

    I laughed so hard at your answer with Baz ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maddie A. says:

    This tag is awesome! I’ve never considered stealing a friend’s pet before, but if I could get a dragon by sacrificing my friend’s cat, I might just do it. That cat hates me anyway haha
    That curse is evil, though. Hope no one gets it! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Great post! I love your answers ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. LizScanlon says:

    This is one mighty tag! BrizzleLass tagged me in it a little while back and I have it in my tag schedule.. yep, I have a tag schedule now XD
    That dare is brutal… gosh, I think for me that book would be Lolita, actually… blimey, I better do the tag! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    This tag seems like so much fun! Thanks so much for tagging me! I loved all your answers! And you are so right, there are so many neglected children in children’s novels. I wonder why that is. Just as there are a lot of orphans in both children and YA novels. It’s a conspiracy I say!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stephanie says:

    This was a fun but hard tag to do! I did it months ago and was stumped on some of Jay’s questions lol. I love you paired Elizabeth with Voldemort!! I can’t stand her. Ugh! I’m anxiously awaiting the new season of Poldark to start in the US…

    Liked by 1 person

      • Stephanie says:

        Yes!! She’s a witch with a capital B!! ๐Ÿ˜ก Season 3 is starts Oct 1st on PBS, so not too long to wait! My teenage son used to be awful and torrent the BBC episodes for me the day after the showed over there, so I was up to date but I made him stop because I was afraid he’d get in trouble lol. Especially since my hubby is an engineer for the cable company ๐Ÿ˜‚ Aww! I know that’s how I’ve felt all year about Poldark and Outlander!! Just glad Outlander is back ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

        Liked by 1 person

        • theorangutanlibrarian says:

          YES!!! ๐Ÿ˜ก ooh lots to look forward to! hehehe I understand, fortunately I can get everything I like when it comes out now (it also doesn’t hurt that I’ve whittled my tv consumption right down ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) hahaha yeah that sounds like a good plan! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Oh that’s cool- enjoy!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Like

          • Stephanie says:

            I can’t wait! I’ve read almost all of the books by Winston Graham, so I know where the story is going for the most part but am always excited to see where they take it on the show!! And watch Aiden Turner โค๐Ÿ’–โค I don’t have time to watch much tv, but I will watch this and Outlander…I still need to finish Game of Thrones lol. Yes, Lol! Don’t want to get my husband fired lol! Thanks!! I’m caught up with Outlander and loving it ๐Ÿ˜

            Liked by 1 person

            • theorangutanlibrarian says:

              Ah well in a way that’s good! But yes Aidan Turner is gorgeous โค Totally get that lol- the only two shows I've been watching for the last few months are GOT and Poldark- now that they're not on anymore, I'm a little bit bereft. Awesome! ๐Ÿ˜

              Like

              • Stephanie says:

                Yes, he is too gorgeous for his own good, lol. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ We’ve got 2 yrs to wait for GOT, which is one reason why I’m stretching it out finishing the season lol ๐Ÿ˜‚ I guess that leaves more time to read? Or watch the episodes all over again?๐Ÿ’œ

                Like

Leave a Reply

