These Dark Faerie Tales are Endless Fun!

endless-worlds-vol-2-450-px

You may have noticed I don’t read many short story collections, but I enjoyed Endless Worlds Volume 1, so I checked this out… and guess what? It was even better!! Before I get into the meat and potatoes of this review, I want to give a shoutout to one of the writers for this- Matthew Wright– for bringing this to my attention- highly recommend checking out his super informative blog! Now onto each of these stories…

The Last Citadel of the Innocent – Matthew Wright

Everyone knows how hard it is to write a convincing world in any fantasy novel, let alone a short story- yet this was so well done that I truly felt transported. The level of detail was perfectly balanced and neatly woven into the story, without being overdone. It was entirely gripping and had a great amount of action to balance this out too. The only reason I couldn’t give this first one 5 bananas was that it wasn’t an entirely contained story- to put it simply: I want more!!

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall half banana

Lorelai – Ken Mann

I thoroughly enjoyed the distinctive fairy tale vibe in this one. The writing style for the story was spot on. Plus, it was dramatic and twisty from beginning to end.

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall half banana

The Liar’s Tale – James Peters

With a great humorous tone, the Liar’s Tale was just the ticket for me. I was already really enjoying this hilarious tale and then the twist at the end cemented my love. I l really appreciated the Russian doll layers to this too, with multiple stories being told at once. Very clever and well executed story!

Rating: 5/5 bananas

 small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall banana

Gil and the Mystic Quill – Peter Koevari

I’ve always loved these types of “magical pen” stories and this had a great setup. I truly appreciated the complexity here. Strangely enough though, while this had some of the most beautiful writing of all the stories, it also had some clumsier wording.

Rating: 4/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall banana

RavenDark – N. R. Marxsen

This was inspired by 12 brothers and as I know the original, I can confirm this was a great retelling 😉 Structurally, this was very similar, yet it was way way darker. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I had the thought while reading it that this was so grim, I almost wonder why it wasn’t written this way in the first place, because this perfectly mirrors the vibe I get from a lot of original fairy tales.

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall half banana

The Blacksmith and the Beast – Anita Templer

Funnily enough, I wasn’t initially all that crazy about this one- for some reason or other, I wasn’t connecting with the writing. However the twists and turns were literally so amazing that it ended up being one of the best. Once it got into the action, I got very into the adventurous feel and then the ending was so good that it blew me away. All I can say is *wow!*

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall half banana

The Witch’s Song – Francis Burns

Yes- another one that I loved! But seriously, this one was great- the setup was so unique and tinged with a creepy atmosphere. I especially liked the writing in this one and the poetry really worked for me here. It was also so gripping that I couldn’t tear my eyes away (hence the fact that my notes ran out here…)

Rating: 5/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall banana

Fairy Tale Hunter’s – Renee Marski

This last one was certainly the most unique, but because of that it was also much stranger and harder to follow. So I didn’t end up connecting with it as much- all credit for the intriguing premise though.

Rating: 3½/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall half banana

Overall, this collection was intriguing, dramatic and unique- I recommend it for all fans of fantasy!

Rating: 4½/5 bananas

small bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall bananasmall half banana

So do you think you’ll check this out? Let me know in the comments!

28 thoughts on “These Dark Faerie Tales are Endless Fun!

  1. LizScanlon says:

    I do love me some short stories… I have read general fiction and paranormal short stories but never any that fit into fantasy, yet… I have to say, it does intrigue me, knowing that fantasy has been put into a short story and that they’re actually so good… praise coming from you is something I trust, so I best check it out some time 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Who am I tag

Leave a Reply

