The Black Cat Blue Sea Award – Bumper Edition! (cos I’m a crazy person who forgets to do tags)

the-black-cat-blue-sea-award-badge

Hello all! Hope you’re all having a relaxing Sunday! And as you can tell from the title, I was nominated to do this a few times and it’s taken me ages to get to, so yada yada yada, gonna cut this preamble short- onto the rules!

The Rules Are: 

  1. Anybody nominated can nominate eight other bloggers.
  2. The nominee answers three questions posed by the nominator.
  3. The questions you ask while nominating can be any three questions.
  4. If any of the questions asked are offensive or the nominee simply does not want to answer, the nominee does not have to answer them to earn the award.

Thank you so much to the brilliant Pooga @Lifesfinewhine, the spectacular Sammie @ Bookshelves and Biro’s, the awesome Kester @LilBookLovers, the wonderful Steph @Stephanie’s Novel Fiction, the fantastic Michaela @JourneyIntoBooks, and the lovely Liis @ Cover to Cover– they’re all incredible bloggers, so check all these peeps out!!

Pooga’s Questions:

  1. What’s the nicest thing anyone has ever done for you?

What a lovely question! Many people have done many nice things for me, but I’m gonna go with how sweet my sister is to me on my birthday every year cos it’s fresh on my mind.

  1. What are you most afraid of?

Ooh deep- and speaking of depths, not a fan of heights 😉

  1. Do you think the world is getting better or worse?

Hahahahahahahaha… oh dear, trying to answer this without getting too heavy is gonna be hard. In all honesty, I follow the politics too closely and it brings out my inner pessimist, but I’d generally say “better” when I’m in a good mood and thinking about all the amazing technological and social advances of our age. Okay, hope that wasn’t too bad… next question?

Sammie’s Questions:

  1. What do you consider your best blog post from 2016 and why?

Ooh err, I’ve left this a while haven’t I? Ermm maybe one of my wrap up posts (I honestly can’t remember, 2016 was sooo long ago!)

2. Do you have any blogging goals or big plans for your blog in 2017?

*Coughs* Well if I did, I hope I’ve fulfilled them at this stage, it’s getting a bit late in the year for new year’s resolutions.

3. What have been your best and worst reads of this year and why?

best and worst of 2017

Well I’m gonna go with of 2017 cos otherwise this is gonna get ridiculous- so far, off the top of my head, I’d put Fahrenheit 451 right up there and Wideacre’s gonna be one of the contenders for worst book for sure- as for the rest of my list… we’ll have to wait and see…

Kesta’s Questions:

  1. What is your favorite album or soundtrack you like to listen to and why?

one the beatles

And it’s my favourite for loads of reasons: 1) it was the first CD I ever owned 2) I was brought up on a diet of old 60s music and the Beatles are my faves and 3) cos this album has all their number one hits (though incidentally it’s missing a lot of what I consider their best songs)

  1. Which book have you been wanting to get signed for such a long time?

Ooh hard question! I would go with Six of Crows, partly cos a lot of my favourite authors are dead, partly cos I don’t have a lot of physical copies by any of my fave living authors (first instincts being Carry On and Neverwhere), but mostly cos I love this book.

six of crows

  1. Would you rather read only physical books but get a paper cut every 15 minutes or e-books but your device shuts down for 1 minute every 5 minutes?

Ermm no thank you to the papercuts? I figure that would be quite inconvenient and I might eventually die of blood loss or something.

Steph’s Questions:

  1. What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Ermmmm certain kinds of books?! Taylor Swift music… Chocolate… (this is starting to sound like confession)

  1. What is your greatest joy in life?

BOOOKS!!!!

  1. Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give your 13-year-old self?

kit kat

Chill out. Take a break- have a kit kat- yeah I know you don’t like kit kats, it’s just an expression… I meant stop taking yourself too seriously, but don’t forget to take some things seriously… (I should really stop talking to my thirteen year old self…)

Michaela’s Questions:

  • If you could travel to any fictional world, which would you choose?

narnia lamppost

Narnia! (I may have finally finished the books recently and am a bit obsessed now)

  • If you could only read one book or series for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

Gosh *hard* question!! I don’t want to have to choose just one series- gah!! I suppose His Dark Materials cos it’s an old favourite and there’s a new one coming out soon!

  • If you could bring one book character back to life, who would it be?

Sirius Black!!!

Liis’ (seriously genius) questions:

  1. Who would win the Fairytale Cage Match: The Grimm Brothers or Hans Christian Andersen? Why?

fairy tale hans christian anderson

Hans Christian Anderson cos he would kill with *feels*!!! The Grimm Brothers would just be curled up in the foetal position sobbing something along these lines: “I-I-I know, w-w-w-e chopped toes off the s-s-stepsisters- b-b-b-u-t why did you have to k-k-kill the Little Matchgirl” (oh yeah, spoiler alert)

  1. A goblin comes to you this evening granting you a wish with which you can wake up tomorrow in any fictional world and live there for the rest of forever and ever- what fictional world is it and why?

hogwarts christmas.jpg

Okay I already chose Narnia, so, you twisted my arm HOGWARTS (I’m going through all the clichés today, but they’re cliché for a reason)

  1. You can choose 3 fictional characters and grant them real life. Who would you choose to play god on and bring into this world and why?

The Librarian from Discworld (duh), Mark Watney (cos he’ll perk up my mood) and King Arthur cos “I need a hero!”

i need a hero.png

(also I just wanted to stick that pic in there)

My questions:

  1. Which bookish baddie would you least like to meet in an alleyway at night?
  2. If you had to be in the Hunger Games *and* fight a famous supervillain, who would you pick and why?
  3. Winter is coming… what book will you be reading to keep you warm at night?

I tag: Naty, James, Never Not Reading, Not So Modern Girl, Marianna Reads, Port Jericho and Rivermoose Reads

And now I’m dying to know- what would *your* answers to my questions be? Let me know in the comments!

 

32 thoughts on “The Black Cat Blue Sea Award – Bumper Edition! (cos I’m a crazy person who forgets to do tags)

  1. Bookstooge says:

    1) Witchking of Angmar. Any of the Nazgul are bad, but if he’s bad enough to be their leader, well…

    2) Miss Haversham from “Great Expectations”. She’s an old lady so I’d totally kick her butt OR she’s Gillian Anderson. I’d be even more ok grappling with HER!

    3) I am looking foward to the next Malazan book by Esslemont – “Deadhouse Landing”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Briana says:

    I always forget to do tags, too. As in, at this point I literally never do them when tagged because I just end up forgetting. Also my blog is scheduled so far ahead that rearranging everything to fit a tag kind of confuses me. Oops?

    I think the world is getting better on the whole, honestly. Yes, terrible things happen, but terrible things have always happened. In terms of communication, medical advances, technology, standards of living, etc. the world in general is much better off than it has ever been. (Yes, some places are better off than others, but large-scale, we’re doing better on the whole.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LizScanlon says:

    This was such a joyful read.. all the Q&A was just fabulous and I really enjoyed your answer for the fairytale cage match! 😀 hahaha, I’m all for Andersen as well 🙂
    Also- Mark Watney- what a brilliant choice!
    Thanks for doing the tag and for the lovely shoutout among hardcore brilliant bloggers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie says:

    Great answers! I love you advice for your 13-years-old self, I would say the SAME thing to myself hahaha 🙂 And yees, His Dark Materials, I’d want to read this series forever ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. alexankarr1 says:

    Nah, depths are worse than heights. Deep sea divers are crazy! And have you seen some of the monsters that live down there?

    I don’t think you need to feel at all guilty for liking Taylor Swift’s music. She is awesomely sarcastic. Superpower-level sarcastic. Check out those lyrics!

    Ooh, which is your fave Chronicle of Narnia? I favour The Magician’s Nephew. Or maybe The Silver Chair. Or…

    Liked by 1 person

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      hahaha yeah they are creepy, but I’m mostly ok in water (and have always wanted to go scuba diving tbh)

      I know right!! I love how she sends herself up at the same time as making fun of the media’s portrayal of her.

      Ooh hard one- I’m gonna go classic with, Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe and gosh I loved the Silver Chair 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

