Mooning Over Artemis!

*Received this book off Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Artemis-Book-Cover-Andy-WeirYou guys know the Martian was what started me off in the sci fi genre- so I couldn’t have been more excited about this book! And now I get to review it- yay!!

One of the great things about the way Weir writes sci fi is that he makes it accurate, without being boring. Not that I’m a scientist, but all the scientific terminology subtly woven into the story created a very realistic atmosphere. By the end I actually felt like I knew what it’s like to live on the moon- which was awesome- because who doesn’t want to know what it’s like to live on the moon? It didn’t feel like world building at all- it just felt like an authentic experience (so who needs moon tourism now, eh?).

Plus, Weir has definitely got the witty banter voice down. So even if I’m not selling you on the great setting, I can tell you I *loved* the humour. I will admit the main character has a very similar jokey manner to Mark Watney, basically making her a female version of him- but who’s complaining, because Mark Watney is awesome!

The characters were a bit of a mixed bag- some of them were better fleshed out than others, so a couple felt a bit surplus to requirements. I did really enjoy the penpal letters between Jazz and Kelvin though- they added a lot to the backstory and I genuinely got invested in them because of their interactions. More importantly though, I did think the addition of some actual antagonists was really helpful to the plot and added some much needed tension.

Because it was the slow build up (after a little false start) that gave me some pause with this book. But then, once it did get going, man, it got good- I mean, it’s a heist in space- a space heist! Again, what’s not to like? If nothing else, this was a fun romp on the moon. And speaking of which- isn’t Artemis basically the *best* name ever for this book? The classics nerd in me just really appreciates how super appropriate that title is.

Okay- enough gushing, my rating is:

4/5 bananas

hand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-bananahand-drawn-banana

And this was published today- so you can get it right now

Have you read this? Do you plan to? Let me know in the comments!

53 thoughts on “Mooning Over Artemis!

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    I never read the Martian but I did see the movie and I loved it, hope to get around to reading the book as well at some point. As for this one, it sounds interesting, but I also saw a review that was a bit less enthusiastic about this one. So I’m still on the fence, but I’m sure that I might get to this one eventually at some point. As always a truly fantastic post 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      Oh well I’m glad you liked the movie (I’m also kinda hoping this gets made into a movie 🙂 ) Fair enough- I think it’s receiving mixed reviews, and I get why, just the thing for me was that those things didn’t really register while reading and didn’t bother me. I will say it’s a really fun book if you like sci fi 😀 Thank you so much! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Captain's Quarters says:

    Excellent and fun review matey! I am getting almost as much fun from reading reviews of this one as I did from the book itself. I thought in particular Jazz’s opinions of the names of the moon bubbles were funny. And I liked the tourist site for the moon landings.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Great review for this book. 🙂 I haven’t read anything by Andy Weir but I’ve heard non stop amazing things about The Martian so I have it on my to-read list, and after reading your review for Artemis and seeing what some other bloggers have said about it I have a feeling I’ll be adding this one to my to-read list as well. 😀
    World building is so important to me, it’s like the main thing I look for in the books I read, so you had me sold the instant you spoke about the world building in this book. The witty banter is just an added bonus!
    Again great review. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  4. alilovesbooks says:

    Got it, read it, really enjoyed it. A little bit slow in places due to all of the techie stuff but like you say it’s a heist in space (or on the moon) so what’s not to like.

    I really must swing back and read the Martian. I love the film but still haven’t read the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bookstooge says:

    I feel that your review would have been slightly more nuanced and of more literary depth and value had you added the line:
    Piiiiiiigggggggsssss in Spaaaaaaaaaace!
    somehow.

    You came very close with that Heist in Space, but PiS [hahahahahahaha] goes all the way back to the 70’s and classic muppet television. PiS has roots 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Trang (Bookidote) says:

    YESS I LOVE THE HUMOUR TOO 🤣🤣 It was just soo fckn funny everytime. Or the line when Svoba wanted her to test his NEW INVENTION LOL I DIED 😂 Or how his dad’s attitude is like OKAY CUT THE BULLSHIT JAZZ. Love it ❤️ The slow pace I noticed it too and happy you mentioned it !! 😱 I forgot about that one in my review 🤔 It felt weird. But overall, still a pretty awesome read !! 👏👏

    Liked by 2 people

    • theorangutanlibrarian says:

      I KNOW RIGHT!!! Hehehe yes!! Oh me too- I loved the dad so much!! ❤ Ah yes, I thought it was gonna be really fast cos of the of the opening, then it slowed down massively, but luckily it picked up again 😊 but yes in the end it was so fun!! 😀

      Like

  7. LizScanlon says:

    Great review! 🙂
    I’ve seen The Martian movie and I quite liked it.. I was surprised that liked it… space stuff is generally not my thing I guess, but I have been intrigued by Artemis myself… I like that there’s humor involved.. that’s always a great bonus!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lashaan (Bookidote) says:

    Totally gonna have to give this story a shot. I wasn’t able to join the hype behind The Martian and ended up watching the movie way later instead. The humour and the science makes this so compelling too. But man… Space heist is what sold me when this novel was first revealed!! Great review!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy says:

    Oh yay, great you enjoyed this one! I haven’t read it yet but I of course loved The Martian so have been curious… I had been waiting to see what reviewers said about it (I loved The Martian so much that I didn’t want to be disappointed/wanted to set my expectations correctly… which is maybe illogical of me but hey), though now I have seen enough positivity around the place, including your review, I will just go ahead and read it. Plus a space heist sounds awesome 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    I got this book when it came out and I haven’t yet had the chance to read it. I have too many books calling for my attention right now. I have t yet read The Martian, despite owning it since forever, but I hope to read Artemis soon. I’m glad to hear you like it. Fantastic review!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. lostartofreadingblog says:

    I read this a while ago and apparently I need to get off my butt and review since I seem to be falling behind haha. I liked this book a lot, loved the dialogue… but it wasn’t as good as the Martian for me, just didn’t get me laughing as much. Maybe my bar was set too high since I fell in love with the Martian and wanted a second one that was just as good.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    I adored The Martian, it’s one of my favourite books. So when I heard that Andy Weir was coming out with another book I knew that I had to read it. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed it and it makes me even more exited to pick it up! Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

