If you like this, try that…

Here’s a classic post that I don’t know if I’ve ever actually done… so I’m doing it! I thought it would be fun to take popular books and recommend something similar (but also quite different that you may never have heard of!) Let’s jump right into it!

Game of Thrones Try Dark Queens

Okay, yes, there’s no dragons or magic or undead zombies BUT there’s more than enough machinations and crazy royals to go round. Absolutely worth giving this non fic a go if you want to know about a real-life game of thrones.

Man’s Search for Meaning Try Happiest Man on Earth

While this has very different messaging, I do think this is another life-affirming book about the Holocaust that everyone should try (and perhaps is not quite as well known).

Radio Silence Try Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry

Because we need more books about what it’s like to fumble through teenage-hood. This is such a strong coming of age story- particularly because the main character really doesn’t have it all figure out… and isn’t that the whole point of coming of age stories??

The Light Between Worlds Try Elidor

Perhaps both of these are not quite as well known as they should be HOWEVER I strongly feel like these takes on the Narnia-style portal story are TOTALLY worth reading. Both show that leaving your world behind and going through a transformative (and indeed traumatic) experience is not something you can just shrug off.

Six of Crows Try the Thief

Though this lacks the band-of-brothers-and-sisters feel of Six of Crows, I do recommend this for a similarly dramatic heist story. And, while very different, the characters are the standout part of the book.

Act Your Age, Eve Brown Try Summer Job

Because the fish-out-of-water, last-chance-to-make-it story really reminded me of this fun rom com I read last year. Both books are exactly what I needed to relax in the hot weather!

And that’s all I have for now! Do you have any other recommendations for these? Do you agree with my suggestions? Let me know in the comments!

Advertisement

10 thoughts on “If you like this, try that…

  1. I really loved The Dark Queens! The summary sounds so wild and intriguing that I’ve found plenty of people who think it’s actually fiction/fantasy and not narrative nonfiction!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s